Eight Jackrabbits named to Big 12 Academic Team

IRVING, Texas — Eight South Dakota State University student-athletes were named Wednesday to the 2018 Academic All-Big 12 Wrestling First Team.

Highlighting the Jackrabbits’ selections were seniors and three-time first-team honorees Alex Macki (wildlife and fisheries science), Nate Rotert (counseling) and Luke Zilverberg (wildlife and fisheries science).

sdsulogoSenior David Kocer (agricultural science) and junior Logan Peterson (political science/history) also were repeat selections. Kocer also was a second-team honoree in 2016 and a first-team selection in 2017, while Peterson was a second-team honoree a year ago.

First-time honorees included senior Tyler Pieper (animal science/dairy production), sophomore Henry Pohlmeyer (political science) and redshirt freshman Colten Carlson (dairy production).

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 grade-point average or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 20 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

First-team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second-team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA. A total of 88 student-athletes — 63 first-team selections and 25 second-team selections — make up the 2018 Academic All-Big 12 Wrestling Team.

The Jackrabbits return to competition this weekend at the Big 12 Wrestling Championship. The two-day tournament runs Saturday and Sunday at BOK Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Academic All-Big 12 Wrestling Team 2018

View More College News