Rhoten Selected to NCWA Hall of Fame

Mankato, Minn. – The NCAA Division II Wrestling Coaches Association has announced that former Minnesota State national champion Jason Rhoten has been selected for induction into its Hall of Fame.

Along with the four other inductees, Rhoten will be officially inducted at a ceremony held Thursday, March 8 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. The Division II Hall of Fame Ceremony will be held in conjunction with a reception for coaches and dignitaries on the eve of the 2018 NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships in Cedar Rapids.

Minnesota State’s Jason Rhoten has been selected for induction into the NCWA Hall of Fame

A four-year letterwinner who was a four-time All-American, Rhoten won the NCAA Division II title at 157 lbs., as a senior in 2008.

One of eight wrestlers in the history of the Minnesota State wrestling program to be a four-time All-American, Rhoten was named the 2007-08 Don Buchanan Award recipient as Minnesota State’s Outstanding Senior Male Student-Athlete. The Mantorville, Minn., native helped lead the Mavericks to a second-place finish at NCAA DII national tournament as a senior and led the team to the NWCA National Duals title in 2008. He finished 40-2 as a senior with the 40 wins ranking third-most ever by any Minnesota State wrestler in a single season.

manklogoRhoten finished his career with a 136-23 mark to rank second all-time at Minnesota State in career wins. The NCAA DII North Central Region Wrestler of the year in 2007-08, he was a four-time North Central Conference Wrestler of the Week as a senior (six times for career) and a three-time NCC All-Academic selection.

Rhoten becomes the tenth Maverick overall to be inducted, joining iconic Rummy Macias who coached MSU from 1950-88 and was inducted in 1999. Current Minnesota State head coach Jim Makovsky was inducted in 2013 and besides Rhoten this year, MSU wrestlers who have been inducted include Bob Soulek (2004), Jack Eustice (2004), Jim Gale (2004), Howie Gangestad (2008), Larry Amundson (2008), Tony Kenning (2008) and Matt Petsinger (2016).

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?