Three Gophers Earn Titles at Don Parker Open

Brent Jones, Carson Brolsma, and Bailee O’Reilly all returned to Minneapolis today with titles from the Don Parker Open for the University of Minnesota wrestling team.

Brolsma earned his second straight open title in Eau Claire, Wis. today, which included a 47-second pin in the finals of 165-pounds, and his third in his career.

“I felt great today, and I thought I wrestled well,” Brolsma said after the tournament. “I had a lot of fun today, but there is always more room to improve. I thought I could have opened up more in my semifinal match, but it can be tough when guys are just trying to hold on and slow you down.”

minnlogo Brolsma was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Wrestler after his 4-0 day. He finished the day outscoring his opponents 48-10, and had one pin.

Jones rolled through his competition in style, earning two first period falls at 2:06 and 1:45 respectively. He earned an 11-2 major decision in the finals to claim the 141-pound title.

At 14-4, Jones has the second most wins and the best winning percentage of any redshirt freshman this season.

At 174-pounds, Bailee O’Reilly was able to capture his first open tournament title in his career. O’Reilly outscored his opponents 32-15 on the way to the title.

The Gophers had four other wrestlers hit the mat in Eau Claire, Wis. on Saturday. Jakob Bergeland was able to finish in third place after getting tripped up in the semifinals of 149-pounds. Bergeland finished with a 5-1 record and moved his win total to 17 this season, the most of any redshirting freshman.

Also at 149-pounds, Tyler Waterson was able to place. He finished the day going 3-2, dropping one match to Bergeland before finishing the day on a positive note with a 10-2 major decision to claim fifth place.

James Berg returned to the mat in Eau Claire and finished the day with a 2-2 record, and a fifth-place finish. Berg obtained the fastest pin of the day for the Gophers at 44-seconds, and also had a win by decision.

Faris Karaborni also competed for the Maroon and Gold at the Don Parker Open. At 197-pounds, Karaborni finished with a 2-2 record, which included two major decisions both by a 16-4 final score.

The University of Minnesota will return to action this next Friday on the road against Rutgers. is your home for Gopher Wrestling news. Be sure to follow Gopher Wrestling on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for the latest updates.

Don Parker Blugold Open Results

Match-by-Match Results:


Brent Jones (3-0, 1st Place)
Champ Rnd 1: Bye
Quarters: Brent Jones fall (2:06) Chase Seaney (Upper Iowa)
Semis: Brent Jones fall (1:45) Hunter Pierce (UW-Eau Claire)
Finals: Brent Jones maj dec Reid Johnson (UW-La Crosse), 11-2


Tyler Waterson (3-2, 5th Place)
Champ Rnd 1: Bye
Champ Rnd 2: Tyler Waterson dec Garrett Model (Unattached, Wisconsin), 8-5
Quarters: Alex Wilson (Augsburg) dec Tyler Waterson, 13-7
Cons Rnd 1: Tyler Waterson tech fall Shawn Barth (Augsburg), 18-1
Cons Semis: Jakob Bergeland (Minnesota) dec Tyler Waterson, 9-5
5th Place: Tyler Waterson maj dec Ty Johnson (Concordia-Moorhead), 10-2

Jakob Bergeland (4-1, 3rd Place)
Champ Rnd 1: Jakob Bergeland dec Cal Hansen (UW-La Crosse), 11-4
Champ Rnd 2: Jakob Bergeland tech fall Boone Young (Augsburg), 21-6
Quarters: Jakob Bergeland fall (3:09) Wilder Wichman (UW-Whitewater)
Semis: Aaron Wilson (Augsburg) fall (4:05) Jakob Bergeland
Cons Semis: Jakob Bergeland dec Tyler Waterson (Minnesota), 9-5
3rd Place: Jakob Bergeland med Wilder Wichman (UW-Whitewater)


James Berg (2-2, 5th Place)
Champ Rnd 1: Bye
Champ Rnd 2: James Berg fall (0:44) Austin Lewis (Luther)
Quarters: James Berg dec Travis Deegan (Concordia Moorhead), 3-2
Semis: Ryan Epps (Augsburg) dec James Berg, 8-2
Cons Semis: Michael Murnane (UW-La Crosse) dec James Berg, 5-1
5th Place: James Berg med Bryce Zdanovec (Augsburg)


Carson Brolsma (4-0, 1st Place)
Champ Rnd 1: Bye
Champ Rnd 2: Carson Brolsma tech fall Brady Mehr (St. Johns (MN)), 18-3
Quarters: Carson Brolsma tech fall Eli Were (UW-Whitewater), 19-4
Semis: Carosn Brolsma maj dec Garrett Beaman (Unattached), 11-3
Finals: Carso Brolsma fall (0:47) Logan Schlough (UW-La Crosse)


Bailee O’Reilly (4-0, 1st Place)
Champ Rnd 1: Bye
Champ Rnd 2: Bailee O’Reilly dec Solomon Nielsen (Augsburg), 12-7
Quarters: Bailee O’Reilly maj dec Evan Lawrence (UW-Eau Claire), 11-1
Semis: Bailee O’Reilly dec Tanner Vassar (Augsburg), 5-4
Finals: Bailee O’Reilly dec Izaec Quintanilla (Unattached – Wisconsin), 4-3


Faris Karaborni (2-2, 8th Place)
Champ Rnd 1: Bye
Champ Rnd 2: Ramsey Bloy (UW-Eau Claire) maj dec Faris Karaborni, 16-5
Cons Rnd 2: Faris Karaborni maj dec Dominic Shawiniak (St. Johns (MN)), 16-4
Cons Rnd 3: Faris Karaborni maj dec Jaxon Seufzer (Unattached), 16-4
7th Place: Cullen Bauer-Trottier (Unattached) dec Faris Karaborni, 7-2

View More College News