Dragon’s Hendrickson Selected for Induction into NSIC Hall of Fame

BURNSVILLE, Minn. — Former Minnesota State University Moorhead wrestling standout Nate Hendrickson has been selected for induction to the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Hall of Fame, it was announced on Tuesday. Hendrickson is the 26th MSUM representative to receive the NSIC Hall of Fame recognition.

The 2018 class will be inducted on Tuesday, July 10 at the Best Western Premier in Burnsville, Minn. The social will begin at 6 p.m. with the ceremony taking place at 6:30 p.m. Reserve tickets for the banquet by visiting www.NorthernSun.org/SummerKickoff and filling out the online Hall of Fame Banquet Registration Form. Registrations are due by June 16, as space is limited for this event.

A native of Menagha, Minn., Hendrickson had one of the best wrestling careers in MSUM history. He compiled a 122-13 record in his four seasons, highlighted by the NCAA Division II National Championship at 167 pounds. He was named the 1997 NCAA Division II Outstanding Wrestler at the national tournament.

During the 1996-97 season, Hendrickson went 33-0 and was the only undefeated wrestler in D2, earning Division II Athlete of the Year honors in 1996-97.

Hendrickson’s 122 wins are second-most in MSUM history. He was a four-time All-American and a four-time NSIC individual champion (one of 11 student-athletes to earn that honor). Hendrickson is the only wrestler in conference history to be named NSIC Wrestler of the Year three times (1996, 1997, 1998)

Hendrickson was inducted into the MSUM Sports Hall of Fame in 2008 and the NCAA Division II Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2010.

He graduated from MSUM with a degree in construction management in 2000. Hendrickson currently works as the director of facilities at Tri-County Health Care in Wadena, Minn. He also has served as a youth elementary wrestling coach at Menagha/Sebeka. Hendrickson and his wife, Lisa, have six children.

MSUM NSIC Hall of Fame inductees
Nate Hendrickson (2018)
Brett Beeson (2017)
Sara Lee (2016)
Larry Scott (2015)
Dale Robley (2014)
Kelley Owen (2013)
Fred Dahnke (2012)
Mike Berg (2011)
Elise (Olsgaard) Erickson (2010)
Frank Mosier (2009)
Randy Sullivan (2008)
Randy Smith (2007)
Dave Bergstrom (2006)
Karin Schumacher (2005)
James Nagel (2004)
Ross Fortier (2003)
Mike Quirk (2002)
Mary Ann Donnay (2001)
Bill Garland (2001)
Bucky Maughan (2001)
Jerry Hegna (2000)
Katie Class (2000)
Ron Masanz (2000)
Larry MacLeod (1990)
Bill Beck (1990)
Marco Gotta (1986)
Alex Nemzek (1986)

NSIC 2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

View More College News