Former Dragon wrestler Hendrickson enters the NSIC Hall of Fame

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – Former Minnesota State University Moorhead wrestling star Nate Hendrickson was inducted into the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Hall of Fame at a banquet Tuesday night in Burnsville, Minn.

Hendrickson is the 27th individual from Dragon Athletics to be inducted into the NSIC Hall of Fame. He was inducted into the NSIC Hall on Tuesday along with Donna Palivec, Bemidji State; James McNear III, Concordia- St. Paul; Ryan Miller, Northern State; Andrea (Schreier) Sawatzky, Southwest Minnesota State; Emily (Schroeder) Jones, Wayne State; and Cyndy (Schubbe) Jones, Winona State.

Spencer Yohe and Nate Hendrickson.

A native of Menagha, Minn., Hendrickson had one of the best wrestling careers in MSUM history. He compiled a 122-13 record in his four seasons, highlighted by the NCAA Division II National Championship at 167 pounds. He was named the 1997 NCAA Division II Outstanding Wrestler at the national tournament.

During the 1996-97 season, Hendrickson went 33-0 and was the only undefeated wrestler in D2, earning Division II Athlete of the Year honors in 1996-97.

Hendrickson’s 122 wins are second-most in MSUM history. He was a four-time All-American and a four-time NSIC individual champion (one of 11 student-athletes to earn that honor). Hendrickson is the only wrestler in conference history to be named NSIC Wrestler of the Year three times (1996, 1997, 1998). Hendrickson never lost an NSIC match in his Dragon career.

He was inducted into the MSUM Sports Hall of Fame in 2008 and the NCAA Division II Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2010.

MSUM NSIC Hall of Fame inductees
Alex Nemzek (1986)
Marco Gotta (1986)
Bill Beck (1990)
Larry MacLeod (1990)
Ron Masanz (2000)
Katie Class (2000)
Jerry Hegna (2000)
Bucky Maughan (2001)
Bill Garland (2001)
Mary Ann Donnay (2001)
Mike Quirk (2002)
Ross Fortier (2003)
James Nagel (2004)
Karin Schumacher (2005)
Dave Bergstrom (2006)
Randy Smith (2007)
Randy Sullivan (2008)
Frank Mosier (2009)
Elise (Olsgaard) Erickson (2010)
Mike Berg (2011)
Fred Dahnke (2012)
Kelley Owen (2013)
Dale Robley (2014)
Larry Scott (2015)
Sara Lee (2016)
Brett Beeson (2017)
Nate Hendrickson (2018)

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?