The National Wrestling Hall of Fame to Induct 8 new members at the Minnesota Chapter Banquet on April 27th

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame and Minnesota Chapter is proud to announce the induction of Paul Marquart as their Outstanding American from Minnesota. Honorees for the Lifetime Service Award are Randy Baker, Jim Bartels, Paul Bengston, Paul Cyr, Lyle Freudenberg, Neal Skaar, and Randy Zimmer.

The Hall of Fame Banquet will be held Saturday, April 27, 2019, at the Austin Holiday Inn Conference Center, right off I-90, Exit 178A. Social hour will be from 2:00-3:00 pm. Dinner, silent auction, and program will be from 3:00-6:30 pm.

Past honorees should bring their Green Jackets for the Parade of Green Jackets.

Minnesota Chapter Banquet Registration Form – please complete the appropriate sections and return to the address listed. Register online at Tickets may also be purchased through Spencer Yohe at or 320-766-1934.

State chapter inductees are permanently honored at the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Museum in Stillwater, Oklahoma. View all National Wrestling Hall of Fame – Minnesota Chapter inductees online at

Outstanding American:

Paul Marquart (Dilworth, Minn.)
Paul has served the Minnesota House of Representatives since 2000. He has served as the DFL Lead for Taxes, Education Finance, Property Taxes, Local Government Finance Committee, and Ways and Means. Paul was an NCAA Division II All-American at the University of North Dakota and was elected to the NDSCS Hall of Fame. He was a wrestling coach for 23 years. Paul earned a silver medal at the 1977 Pan Am Junior Championships. He continues to teach social studies at Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton High School.

Lifetime Service:

Randy Baker (Jackson, Minn.)
Randy was the head coach for 34-years at Jackson County Central where he recently retired. His teams produced seven state championships, 39 individual state champions, and 510 career varsity wins.

Jim Bartels (New Ulm, Minn.)
Jim has given back to the sport of wrestling for 44 Years. He was an official, youth coach, former owner of The Guillotine, and a radio broadcaster. Jim, General Manager of KNUJ, was the first of three stations to broadcast the Minnesota State Wrestling Tournament, and now over 35 stations broadcast it.

Paul Bengston (Hopkins, Minn.)
Paul has given back over 20 years to the sport of wrestling as a coach and contributor. Paul’s legendary Hopkins teams won three one-class state titles in the 1960s, and four of his wrestlers were Olympians. Paul has been a mentor to many successful coaches.

Paul Cyr (Oklee, Minn.)
Paul coached and officiated the sport of wrestling for 42 years. Most of his coaching career was at New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva. Paul’s teams produced 445 career varsity wins. He coached four of his teams to the Minnesota State Dual Meet Tournament. Many of Paul’s wrestlers have enjoyed successes at the Collegiate Level.

Lyle Freudenberg (Foley, Minn.)
Lyle was the coach for 39 years at state powerhouse Foley. His teams won three Minnesota State Dual Meet Championships and accumulated 710 Career Wins. Lyle was a three-time State Coach of the Year. As a wrestler, he was an NIC Champion and team captain at MSU Moorhead.

Neal Skaar (Albert Lea, Minn.)
Neal starts his 50th year as a highly successful coach in his hometown of Albert Lea, Minn. The three-time Luther College All-American was the head coach when his team won the 1982 MSHSL State Championship. His teams also won 25 Big 9 Conference titles. Neal has officiated for 50 years.

Randy Zimmer (Milaca, Minn.)
Randy coached 35 Years at Milaca High School. He wrestled for the legendary Gary Hindt at Wabasso. Randy’s teams produced 556 career varsity wins, and ten trips to the Minnesota State Dual Meet Tournaments. He was a two-time State Coach of the Year and NWCA Minnesota Coach of the Year.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?