Foster, Jones and Schulz Lead Dragons at UNK Holiday Inn Open

KEARNEY, Neb. — Redshirt freshman Evan Foster won the championship in the 184-pound amateur division to lead the Minnesota State University Moorhead wrestling team at the Nebraska-Kearney Holiday Inn Open on Saturday in Kearney, Neb. A total of 11 Dragons competed at the event, with four competing in the elite division with three wrestlers — sophomore Cole Jones, redshirt freshman Mason Schulz and Foster — winning five matches on the day.

In the amateur division, Foster went undefeated on the day, including a quarterfinal win over Trevor Ervin of the Air Force Academy. He won his championship match 13-12 over Hayden Wempen of Northeastern Junior College.

moorlogoSchulz went 5-1 on the day and took third at 141 pounds to improve to 9-5 on the season (he competed unattached at the Jimmie Open). He won his third-place match with a 16-0 tech fall over Darian Mazanares of New Mexico Highlands.

In the 125-pound amateur division, Jones finished 5-2 on the day, with his lone loss coming to Graham Shore of Air Force Prep. He ended up not placing due to the daily match limit. Jones is now 9-3 on the season.

Sophomore Sam Erckenbrack started his day in the elite division (284) with an 8-5 win over Sammy DeSeriere of Western State Colorado University before beating Gavin Nye of Colorado State University-Pueblo in the quarterfinals. His first loss of the day came in a close 3-2 decision against Austin Emerson of Nebraska. He won his consolation semifinal match over Brandon Saunders of Colorado School of Mines before losing in overtime to Dominic Tudor of the University of Mary in the third-place match. Erckenbrack is 6-4 on the season.

Logan Rhode finished 2-2 at 184 in the Elite Division for MSUM.

2018 UNK Holiday Inn Open Results

The Dragons will open their dual season on Tuesday when they travel to crosstown rival Concordia for a 7 p.m. dual. They will open their home season on Nov. 30 when they host the Northern State Wolves in their NSIC opener.

Dragon results:

Amateur Division
125 – Cole Jones (5-1)
141 – Mason Schulz (5-1, 3rd place)
157 – Ryan Stenson (1-2)
165 – Braydon Ortloff (2-2)
165 – Justin Dravis (2-2)
184 – Evan Foster (5-0, Champion)
197 – Jake Erckenbrack (3-2)

Elite Division
174 – Adam Blees (1-2)
184 – Mitch Kotschevar (0-2)
184 – Logan Rhode (2-2)
285 – Sam Erckenbrack (3-2, 4th Place)

View More College News

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.