Gophers Conclude Bison Open

After defeating Air Force Friday evening in Colorado, the University of Minnesota sent 13 wrestlers to Fargo, N.D. to compete in the Bison Open where the Maroon and Gold placed eight in top-3 positions.

Minnesota came away from the tournament with a heavyweight championship and four second-place finishers. Gable Steveson won his second consecutive open tournament of the season by going 3-0 in North Dakota. The Apple Valley native opened the day with a 20-5 technical fall and followed that up with an 11-6 decision over NDSU wrestler Daniel Stibral. Steveson took his final match against Tanner Hall of Arizona State into sudden victory where Steveson came away with the championship after securing the deciding points in the match, winning 3-1.

minnlogoFour others finished runner-up in their brackets. They include Patrick McKee (125), Brayton Lee (149), Ryan Thomas (157) and Bobby Steveson (197). McKee went 2-1, with a fall in 2:34 and a 10-7 decision, in his first two rounds before dropping the 125-pound final to Ryan Millhof (Arizona State). Brayton Lee highlighted his second-place finish with a 21-6 technical fall in his opening round, while Ryan Thomas went 2-1 with a second-period fall in the quarterfinals to finish second at 157.

Bobby Steveson saw his first action of the season at the Bison Open Saturday. Steveson earned a 15-6 major decision in the quarterfinals and a 6-3 decision in the semis to reach the final at 197-pounds. There, Steveson’s championship attempt would fall short with a loss to Tanner Sloan of South Dakota State.

Minnesota gained a trio of third place finishers in Jake Allar (165), Bailee O’Reilly (174) and Garrett Joles (197). Allar, a runner-up finisher at the Daktronics open a week ago, was 3-1 with two falls on the day. O’Reilly’s wrestled to a 3-1 record with a major decision victory. His only loss at the open came to 2018 NCAA Champion, Zahid Valencia (Arizona State). Joles placed for the second tournament in a row at the Bison. The freshman went 3-1 with major decisions over Arizona State wrestlers Austyn Harris and Chad Porter.

The Gophers placed five additional wrestlers at the tournament: Jake Gliva (5th, 133), Brent Jones (4th, 141), Ben Brancale (4th, 149), Kasper McIntosh (4th, 157) and Caden Steffen (5th, 184).

2018 Bison Open Results

Minnesota will return to the Pav Sunday, Nov. 18 to open their home schedule against Oklahoma State University.

Check out Gopher Wrestling at and on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

View More College News

Results – * Indicates Unattached Wrestler

Patrick McKee* (Second)
Quarters – W, fall. Conner Ledoux (Minot), 2:34
Semis – W, Dec. Paul Bianchi (NDSU), 10-7
Finals – L, Dec. Ryan Millhof (Arizona State), 10-4

Jake Gliva* (Fifth)
Quarters – L, MD. Joshua Krammer (Arizona State), 14-6
Cons. Rd. 2 – W, Dec. Jace Gerving (Itasca CC), 9-0
Cons. Rd. 2 – W, TF. Lincoln Stormer (Minot), 16-1
Cons. Semi. – L, Fall. Nicolas Colunga (NDSU), 2:09
5th place – W, Fall. Chance Ikei (Arizona State), 6:20

Brent Jones (Fourth)
Champ rd. 1 – W, Fall. Rees Lehman (NCTC)
Quarters – W, TF. Marco Ramireslazos (Minot), 16-0
Semis – L, Dec. Cory Crooks (Arizona State), 11-5
Cons. Semi. – W, Dec. Samuel Stuhl (NDSU), 16-9
3rd place – L, Dec. Zach Price (SDSU), 11-7

Brayton Lee* (Second)
Quarters – W, TF. Shadi Mitwalli (Minot), 21-6
Semis – W, Dec. Nicholas Villarreal (Arizona State), 12-6
Finals – L, Dec. Joshua Maruca (Arizona State), 5-4

Ben Brancale (Fourth)
Quarters – W, Fall. Peyton Smith (SDSU), 6:59
Semis – L, TF. Joshua Maruca (Arizona State), 15-0
Cons. Semi. – W, Fall. Shadi Mitwalli (Minot), 5:32
3rd place – L, Dec. Nicolas Villarreal (Arizona State), 6-4

Ryan Thomas* (Second)
Champ rd. 1 – W. Fall Dalton Lakmann (SDSU), 2:45
Quarters – W, Fall. Zach Berry (Minot), 4:53
Semis – W, Dec. Kasper McIntosh (Minnesota), 3-2
Finals – L, MD. Christian Pagdilao (Arizona State), 13-3

Kasper McIntosh* (Fourth)
Quarters – W, Dec. Braydon Ortloff (Moorhead), 7-6
Semis – L, Dec. Ryan Thomas (Minnesota), 3-2
Cons. Semi. – W, TF. Max Miller (Minot), 21-4
3rd place – L, Dec. Laken Cook (SDSU), 10-5

Jake Allar (Third)
Quarters – W, Fall. Austin Brenner (NDSU), 0:38
Semis – L, Dec. Jacen Petersen (Arizona State), 5-2
Cons. Semi. – W, Dec. James Noel (NDSU), 12-6
3rd place – W, Fall. Austin Brenner (NDSU), 4:18

Bailee O’Reilly (Third)
Quarters – W, MD. Dalton Bernett (Itasca CC), 12-4
Semis – L, Fall. Zahid Valencia (Arizona State), 2:46
Cons. Semi. – W, MF. Dylan Urbach (NDSU)
3rd place – W, Dec. Adam Blees (Moorhead), 9-3

Caden Steffen (Fifth)
Champ rd. 1 – W, Fall. Matthew Rabe (Minot) 3:21
Quarters – L, Dec. Noah Cressell (NDSU), SV-2 3-2
Cons. Rd 2 – W, MD. Russell Rucklos (SDSU), 13-5
Cons. Rd 3 – W, Dec. Tyler Farless (Moorhead), 9-3
Cons. Semi. – L, Dec. Todd Pottinger (NDSU), 4-3
5th place – W, Dec. Noah Cressel (NDSU), 7-3

Bobby Steveson (Second)
Quarters – W, MD. Logan Rhode (Moorhead), 15-6
Semis – W, Dec. Cole Witzig (NDSU), 6-3
Finals – L, TF. Tanner Sloan (SDSU), 16-1

Garrett Joles* (Third)
Quarters – W, MD. Austyn Harris (Arizona State), 14-6
Semis – L, Dec. Tanner Sloan (SDSU), 9-5
Cons. Semi. – W, MD. Chad Porter (Arizona State), 12-4
3rd place – W, Dec. Austyn Harris (Arizona State), 10-5

Gable Steveson*
Quarters – W, TF. Samuel Erckenbrack (Moorhead), 20-5
Semis – W, Dec. Daniel Stibral (NDSU), 11-6
Finals – W, Dec. Tanner Hall (Arizona State), SV-1 3-1

View More College News

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.