Pohlmeyer, Carlson win titles at Dak Open

Juniors Henry Pohlmeyer and Zach Carlson won individual titles to lead the South Dakota State University wrestling team at the season-opening Warren Williamson/Daktronics Open Sunday at the Sanford-Jackrabbit Athletic Complex. The daylong event was the first competition for the Jackrabbits under new head coach Damion Hahn.

Both Jackrabbits knocked off ranked wrestlers from the University of Minnesota in their respective championship matches. Pohlmeyer, from Johnston, Iowa, claimed the 149-pound title by picking up a late stalling point to pull out a 4-3 victory over 11th-ranked Tommy Thorn. A national qualifier at 141 pounds last season, Pohlmeyer outscored his opponents by a combined 19-0 in his first two matches, then advanced to the finals with a 4-2 victory over Collin Purinton of Nebraska.

sdsulogoCarlson, a native of Kerkhoven, Minnesota, held off 15th-ranked Owen Webster in the title match to also win by a 4-3 count. Carlson began his tournament run with a 12-4 major decision over Daniel Bishop of Augustana, followed by a 5-1 decision versus Caden Steffen of Minnesota.

Also reaching a championship match for the Jackrabbits was freshman 197-pounder Tanner Sloan. The Alburnett, Iowa, product pinned Nebraska’s Anthony Gaona at the end of the first period in his collegiate debut, then posted a 7-5 decision over Brandon Krone from Minnesota. In the semifinals, Sloan upset 17th-ranked Eric Schultz of Nebraska with a 13-4 major-decision victory.

In the title match, Minnesota’s Dylan Anderson fended off a couple of lengthy takedown attempts by Sloan to come away with a 3-2 victory. Anderson was one of seven Golden Gopher wrestlers to win an event title on Sunday.

Also at 197 pounds, Martin Mueller posted a fourth-place finish for the Jackrabbits. Other placewinners for SDSU included Clay Carlson, fourth at 141 pounds; Zach Price, fifth at 141 pounds; Logan Peterson, fourth at 165 pounds, and freshman Kenny O’Neil, sixth at 165.

Warren Williamson/Daktronics Open Results

The 20th-ranked Jackrabbits open the dual portion of their schedule next Sunday (Nov. 11) by taking on No. 10 Arizona State at the Sanford Pentagon in Sioux Falls. Start time is slated for 1 p.m.

125: #10 Sean Russell (Minnesota) dec. Skyler Petry (Minnesota), 3-2
133: #5 Ethan Lizak (Minnesota) tech. fall Christian Miller (Nebraska), 16-0 [3:40]
141: #15 Mitch McKee (Minnesota) def. Hunter Marko (Minnesota) by forfeit
149: Henry Pohlmeyer (SDSU) dec. #11 Tommy Thorn (Minnesota), 4-3
157: #11 Steve Bleise (Minnesota) dec. Luke Weber (Nebraska), 8-7
165: Carson Brolsma (Minnesota) dec. Jake Allar (Minnesota), 3-1 [SV-1]
174: Michael Labriola (Nebraska) won round-robin format with 5-0 record (defeated runner-up Devin Skatzka, by dec., 10-5)
184: Zach Carlson (SDSU) dec. #15 Owen Webster (Minnesota), 4-3
197: Dylan Anderson (Minnesota) dec. Tanner Sloan (SDSU), 3-2
285: Gable Steveson (Minnesota) dec. Rylee Streifel (Minnesota), 8-4
Note: Rankings by FloWrestling

Check out Jackrabbit Wrestling at and on Twitter | Facebook | Instagram.

View More College News