St. Cloud State 36 Chadron State 9

St. Cloud State Takes Down Chadron State in Regular Season Home Debut

ST. CLOUD, Minn. – In their first home regular season match of the 2018-19 campaign, the No. 1 St. Cloud State wrestling team defeated Chadron State (NE) 36-9 on Thursday, Nov. 15 at Halenbeck Hall.

St. Cloud State started off on a high note with a 6-0 lead courtesy of Brett Velasquez at 125 before Garrett Vos followed up with a 5-0 decision in the 133 to put SCSU up 9-0. SCSU extended their lead to 14-0 after a 16-1 technical fall from Travis Swanson at 141.

scsulogoChadron State posted their first points in the 149 following a 2-1 decision. Jake Barzowski would post six points at 157, then the Huskies lead increased to 23-3 courtesy of an 11-4 decision at 165 from Devin Fitzpatrick. A 5-2 decision in favor of Kolten Eischens in the 174 gave SCSU a 26-3 lead.

Riley Vanik took an 11-3 decision in the 184 to put the Huskies up 30-3, then Vince Dietz posted six points at 197 to give St. Cloud State a 36-3 lead heading into the final match of the night. Chadron State received six points in the 285 to put the final at 36-9.

The intermission was highlighted by the presentation of SCSU’s 2017-18 Male Athlete of the Year Award to Larry Bomstad. Bomstad was a 3X All-American and 2X All-NSIC First Team selection for the Huskies who finished as the NCAA DII Runner-up and the Dean Weisman SCSU Wrestler of the Year in 2018.

#1 St. Cloud State 36 Chadron State 9
125: Brett Velasquez (SCSU) over Clayton Eagle (CHST) (Fall 1:42)
133: Garrett Vos (SCSU) over Brandon Kile (CHST) (Dec 5-0)
141: Travis Swanson (SCSU) over Brandon Kile (CHST) (TF 16-1 3:27)
149: Chase Clasen (CHST) over James Pleski (SCSU) (Dec 2-1)
157: Jake Barzowski (SCSU) over Steven Lahnert (CHST) (Fall 1:36)
165: Devin Fitzpatrick (SCSU) over John Porter (CHST) (Dec 11-4)
174: Kolton Eischens (SCSU) over Mat Hebel (CHST) (Dec 5-2)
184: Riley Vanik (SCSU) over Heber Shepherd (CHST) (MD 11-3)
197: Vince Dietz (SCSU) over Aspen Naylor (CHST) (Fall 2:40)
285: Rulon Taylor (CHST) over Zachary Muller (SCSU) (Fall 1:44)

Check out Huskies Wrestling at and on Twitter and Facebook.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?