St. Cloud State 36 Southwest Minnesota State 6

#1 St. Cloud State wrestling scores 35-6 win at Southwest Minnesota State

The #1 St. Cloud State University wrestling team (2-0, 1-0 NSIC) opened defense of its 2018 NSIC championship with a convincing 35-6 victory at Southwest Minnesota State University (0-1, 0-1 NSIC) on Thursday, Nov. 29 in Marshall, Minn.

SCSU has won 61 consecutive NSIC dual matches dating back to a setback against Augustana on Jan. 27, 2011. The Huskies have also won 30 consecutive dual matches dating back to the 2016-17 season.

scsulogo The match started with the 197-weight class as SCSU’s Vince Dietz (9-0), ranked No. 1 nationally, defeated SMSU’s Ben Thompson (3-6) by major decision (12-0) to maintain his undefeated record and gain a 4-0 lead for the Huskies.

At 285-pounds, SMSU’s #12 Andrew Petersen posted a 5-3 win over SCSU’s Brady Reigstad. The Huskies won the next four bouts as SCSU’s Brandon Biggs (6-2) defeated Willie Meine (5-3) by decision, 7-3, in the 125-weight class, followed by SCSU’s Garrett Vos (5-0), ranked fourth in the nation, with a 6-0 victory by decision over SMSU’s Brock Buysee (5-3) at the 133-weight class. SCSU’s Travis Swanson (6-2) won by forfeit at the 141, and SCSU’s James Pleski (5-1), ranked second in the nation, won by fall at 5:51 over SMSU’s Jordan Biehn (0-1).

SMSU’s Cortez Arredondo, ranked 10th in the nation, (7-2) earned the Mustangs’ second victory with a 5-3 win by decision over SCSU’s Taner Trembley (0-1). Eighth-ranked, Devin FitzPatrick of SCSU maintained his undefeated record (7-0) with a 16-5 victory by major decision over SMSU’s Dru Kuchenbaker (7-4) to gain a 29-6 lead.

St. Cloud State closed the victory as Riley Vanik won by fall at 184-pounds over SMSU’s Cole Hennen at 1:50 to make the score 35-6.

St. Cloud State 36 Southwest Minnesota State 6
197: SCSU Vince Dietz wins (MD) over SMSU Ben Thompson (12-0) SMSU 0, SCSU 4
285: SMSU Andrew Petersen wins by decision over SCSU Brady Reigstad (5-3) SMSU 3, SCSU 4
125: SCSU Brandon Biggs wins by decision over SMSU Willie Meine (7-3) SMSU 3, SCSU 7
133: SCSU Garrett Vos wins by decision over SMSU Brock Buysse (6-0) SMSU 3, SCSU 10
141: SCSU Travis Swanson wins by forfeit (6-0) SMSU 3, SCSU 16
149: SCSU James Pleski wins by fall over SMCSU Jordan Biehn (FALL at 5:51) SMSU 3, SCSU 22
157: SMSU Cortez Arredondo wins by decision over SCSU Taner Trembly (5-3) SMSU 6, SCSU 22
165: SCSU Devin FitzPatrick wins by (MD) over SMSU Kegen Fingalsen (16-5) SMSU 6, SCSU 26
174: SCSU Kolton Eischens wins by decision over SMSU Dru Kuchenbaker (7-0) SMSU 6, SCSU 29
184: SCSU Riley Vanik won by fall over SMSU Cole Hennen (FALL at 1:50) SMSU 6, SCSU 35

Check out Huskies Wrestling at and on Twitter and Facebook.

View More College News