Gopher grapplers compete at UNI Open

The University of Minnesota wrestling team sent 15 wrestlers to the UNI Open at the University of Northern Iowa where they advanced multiple grapplers to the finals and had numerous placers.

125-pound Patrick McKee, 165-pound Jake Allar, and 197-pound Dylan Anderson were the team’s three finalists. McKee got two victories by decision before falling to Alex Mackall of Iowa State. Allar had three consecutive bonus point victories, including two pins, before falling in double overtime to Nelson Brands of Iowa.

Anderson, meanwhile, notched three victories before falling to South Dakota State’s Tanner Sloan.


125-pound Skyler Petry started off the tournament with two victories before being forced to forfeit his final three matches, ultimately putting him in sixth place.

The Gophers also had several wrestlers finish the open in fifth place. After losing his first match 149-pound Jakob Bergeland ran off four straight victories to keep his hopes alive and ultimately was victorious in the fifth place match.

157-pound Brayton Lee started his day off with a technical fall and finished it off with a major decision to clinch fifth place. 174-pound Bailee O’Reilly battled his way through the backside of the bracket to win a 6-4 decision while 197-pound Garrett Joles bounced back from a semifinals loss to take home fifth place.

133-pound Steve Polakowski bumped up to that weight class and claimed sixth place with multiple victories by decision.

2018 UNI Open Results

The Gophers take a couple weeks off before traveling to Fort Lauderdale, Florida, for the South Beach Duals on December 29-30.

Check out Gopher Wrestling at and on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

View More College News

Skyler Petry (2-0, 6th Place)
Champ Round 1: Skyler Petry dec. Jakob Allison (Iowa State Unattatched) SV 10-8
Quarters: Skyler Petry dec. Justin Cardani (Illinois) 5-1
Semis: Alex Mackall (Iowa State Unattatched) medical forfeit over Skyler Petry
Cons. Semis: Cevion Severado (Missouri) medical forfeit over Skyler Petry
5th place match: Justin Cardani (Illinois) medical forfeit over Skyler Petry

Patrick McKee (2-1, 2nd Place)
Quarters: Patrick McKee dec. Dack Punke (Missouri) 7-1
Semis: Patrick McKee dec Kyle Biscoglia (Norhtern Iowa) 7-3
Finals: Alex Mackall (Iowa State Unattatched) dec. Patrick McKee 5-1

Jack Gliva (1-2)
Quarters: Jack Skudlarzyk (Northern Iowa) dec. Jake Gliva 8-3
Cons. Round 2: Jake Gliva fall (5:32) over Joshua Badillo (Iowa Central CC)
Cons. Round 3: Brock Rathbun (Wartburg) maj. dec. Jake Gliva 13-2

Steve Polakowski (2-3, 6th Place)
Quarters: McGwire Midkiff (North Dakota State) dec. Steve Polakowski 6-0
Cons. Round 2: Steve Polakowski dec. Spencer Huber (South Dakota State) 7-3
Cons. Round 3: Steve Polakowski dec. Dom Dentino (Wisconsin Unattatched) 10-4
Cons. Semis: Jack Skudlarzyk (Northern Iowa) major dec. Steve Polakowski 10-2
Finals: Brock Rathbun (Wartburg) fall (5:00) over Steve Polakowski

Tyler Waterson (0-2)
Champ Round 2: Max Thomsen (Northern Iowa) tech. fall Tyler Waterson 18-2
Cons. Round 3: Zach Axmear (Iowa) major dec. Tyler Waterson 15-5

Jakob Bergeland (4-2, 5th Place)
Champ Round 2: Brock Mauller (Missouri) major dec. Jakob Bergeland 14-3
Cons. Round 3: Jakob Bergeland fall (6:00) over Grant Stotts (Iowa State Unattached)
Cons. Round 4: Jakob Bergeland won by medical forgeit over Henry Pohlmeyer
Cons. Round 5: Jakob Bergeland major dec. Mousa Jodeh (Illinois) 11-0
Cons. Semis: Denton Spencer (Unattached) dec. Jakob Bergeland 5-2
5th Place Match: Jakob Bergeland dec. Graham Rooks (Indiana Unattatched)

Kasper McIntosh (2-2)
Champ Round 2: Devin Bahr (Wisconsin Unattached) dec. Kasper McIntosh 4-2
Cons. Round 2: Kasper McIntosh dec. Anders Lantz (Wisconsin Unattached) 6-3
Cons. Round 3: Kasper McIntosh dec. Isaiah Patton (Northern Iowa) 5-3
Cons. Round 4: Jared Franek (North Dakota State) major dec. Kasper McIntosh 11-3

Brayton Lee (3-1, 5th Place)
Champ Round 2: Brayton Lee tech. fall Patrick Schoenfelder (Northern Iowa) 24-7
Quarters: Brayton Lee major dec. Joe Kelly (Iowa) 12-3
Semis: David Carr (Iowa State Unattached) dec. Brayton Lee 6-0
Cons.Semi: Chase Straw (Iowa State Wrestling) dec. Brayton Lee 7-6
5th Place Match: Brayton Lee major dec. Cayd Lara (Northern Iowa) 18-5

Ryan Thomas (2-2)
Champ Round 1: Ryan Thomas dec. Tyler Dow (Wisconsin Unattached) 8-5
Champ Round 2: Ryan Thomas fall (0:29) over Russ Jennett (Iowa Central CC)
Quarters: Brady Jennings (Iowa State Unattached) dec Ryan Thomas 5-2
Cons. Round 4: Tate Battani (Iowa State Unattached)dec Ryan Thomas 6-2

Jake Allar (3-1, 2nd Place)
Champ Round 2: Jake Allar fall (2:00) over Tim McCarthy (Illinois)
Quarters: Jake Allar tech. fall Austin Brenner (North Dakota State) 17-2
Semis: Jake Allar fall (2:13) over Travis Willers (Unattached)
Finals: Nelson Brands (Iowa) 3-2 in double overtime over Jake Allar

Bailee O’Reilly (3-2, 5th Place)
Champ Round 1: Bailee O’Reilly fall (5:41) over Austin Hansen (Luther College)
Quarters: Marcus Coleman (Iowa State Unattached) dec. Bailee O’Reilly 12-5
Cons. Round 3: Bailee O’Reilly dec. Maxwell Southard (Iowa State) 10-4
Cons. Semis: Jeremiah Kent (Missouri) dec. Bailee O’Reilly 2-1
5th Place Match: Bailee O’Reilly dec. Austin Hansen (Luther College) 6-4

Caden Steffen (2-2)
Champ Round 1: Caden Steffen major dec. Russell Rucklos (South Dakota State) 14-3
Champ. Round 2 Caden Steffen fall (4:08) over Justin Guilliams (Northern Iowa)
Quarters: Dylan Wisman (Missouri) major dec. Caden Steffen 14-2
Cons. Round 4: Alex McDowell (Iowa State Unattached) dec. Caden Steffen 3-1

Garrett Joles (3-2, 5th Place)
Champ. Round 2: Garrett Joles major dec. Izaak Shedenhelm (Northern Iowa) 14-5
Quarters: Garrett Joles dec. Taylor Watkins (Missouri) 8-3
Semis: Tanner Sloan (South Dakota State) major dec. Garrett Joles 14-0
Cons. Semis: Wyatt Koelling (Missouri) dec. Garrett Joles 10-3
5th Place Match: Garrett Joles won by forfeit over Tyrell Gordon (Northern Iowa)

Bobby Steveson (2-2)
Champ. Round 2: Bobby Steveson fall (4:53) over Jian Joobeen (Luther College)
Quarters: Tanner Sloan (South Dakota State) dec. Bobby Steveson 5-1
Cons. Round 4: Bobby Steveson dec. Izaak Shedenhelm (Northern Iowa) 5-4
Cons. Round 5: Taylor Watkins (Missouri) dec Bobby Steveson 9-4

Dylan Anderson (3-1, 2nd Place)
Champ. Round 2: Dylan Anderson dec Wyatt Koelling (Missouri) 3-1
Quarters: Dylan Anderson dec. Matt Wroblewski (Illinois) 4-3
Semis: Dylan Anderson dec. Tyrell Gordon (Northern Iowa) 8-6
Finals: Tanner Sloan (South Dakota State) fall (1:03) over Dylan Anderson

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.