NDSU Drops 2 of 3 at South Beach Duals

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla.—No. 20-ranked North Dakota State dropped a pair of close decisions to West Virginia 19-17 on the final bout and No. 12 North Carolina 20-19 on criteria but rebounded by bouncing Indiana 33-9 South Beach Duals on Sunday, Dec. 30, in the Fort Lauderdale Convention Center.

Travel issues forced the Bison to reschedule after missing Saturday’s two duals, including a date with No. 8-ranked Cornell, and hit the mat for three matches on Sunday.

ndsulogo NDSU (6-3, 2-2 #Big12WR) is scheduled to host No. 23 Iowa State at 7 p.m. Jan. 9 in Scheels Center.

Five North Dakota State wrestlers won a pair of matches led by the 2-0 efforts by No. 9-ranked 125 Brent Fleetwood (15-3, 7-1) and 174 Lorenzo De La Riva. De La Riva (12-6, 5-3) recorded a tech fall and a major decision against North Carolina and Indiana, while Fleetwood picked up a forfeit and major decision.

Three NDSU wrestlers, No. 17 133 Cam Sykora (15-3, 7-1), No. 18 165 Andrew Fogarty (10-3, 7-2), and 197 Cordell Eaton (13-5, 6-3) all won 2 of 3 bouts after losing against West Virginia. Sykora recorded a major decision and his seventh tech fall of the season and Fogarty picked up his sixth pin of the season.

North Dakota State heavyweight Dan Stibral (15-4, 1-0) recorded his fifth pin in his first dual action of the season to close out the win over Indiana.

South Beach Duals Results on TrackWrestling.com

West Virginia 19, #20 North Dakota State 17
125—Paul Bianchi (NDSU) dec Joey Thomas (WVU), 7-3
133—Matthew Schmitt (WVU) dec #17 Cam Sykora (NDSU), 8-4
141—Lukas Martin (WVU) dec Taylor Nein (NDSU), 5-4
149—Christian Monserrat (WVU) dec Jaden Van Maanen (NDSU), 5-3
157—Nick Knutson (NDSU) dec Zach Moore (WVU), 6-1
165—Nick Kiussis (WVU) major dec #18 Andrew Fogarty (NDSU), MD 11-3
174—Jesse Shearer (NDSU) won by forfeit
184—Michael Otomo (NDSU) won by forfeit
197—Noah Adams (WVU) dec Cordell Eaton (NDSU), 5-2
285—Brandon Ngati (WVU) dec Brandon Metz (NDSU), 7-3
NDSU lost team point – control of mat area

#12 North Carolina 20, #20 North Dakota State 19
125-#9 Brent Fleetwood (NDSU) major dec Joel Heilmann (UNC), MD 13-2
133—#17 Cam Sykora (NDSU) major dec Gary Wayne Harding (UNC), MD 9-0
141—AC Headlee (UNC) dec Taylor Nein (NDSU), 6-1
149—Austin O’Conner (UNC) fall Jaden Van Maanen (NDSU), 3:39
157—Josh McClure (UNC) dec Luke Weber (NDSU), 5-4
165—#18 Andrew Fogarty (NDSU) dec Sawyer Davidson (UNC), 5-2
174—Lorenzo De La Riva (NDSU) tech fall Will MacDonald (UNC), TF 19-2 5:47
184—Chip Ness (UNC) major dec Michael Otomo (NDSU), MD 13-1
197—Cordell Eaton (NDSU) dec Chasen Blair (UNC), 7-4
285—Cory Daniel (UNC) tie breaker-1 Brandon Metz (NDSU), TB-1 5-1
UNC wins by criteria (most falls)

#20 North Dakota State 33, Indiana 9
125-#9 Brent Fleetwood (NDSU) won by forfeit
133—#17 Cam Sykora (NDSU) tech fall Paul Konrath (IU), TF 19-4 5:22
141—Cole Weaver (IU) dec Taylor Nein (NDSU), 3-0
149—Jaden Van Maanen (NDSU) dec Fernie Silva (IU), 5-4
157—Jake Danishek (IU) dec Nick Knutson (NDSU), 7-4
165—#18 Andrew Fogarty (NDSU) fall Bryce Martin (IU), 1:33
174—Lorenzo De La Riva (NDSU) major dec Jakob Hinz (IU), MD 13-3
184—Norman Conley (IU) dec Michael Otomo (NDSU), 6-4
197—Cordell Eaton (NDSU) dec Jake Kleimola (IU), 3-2
285—Dan Stibral (NDSU) fall Brandon Streck (IU), 1:14

Check out Bison Wrestling at gobison.com and on Twitter.

View More College News