North Dakota State 23, Air Force 14

No. 19 NDSU Closes Strong to Turn Back Air Force 23-14 for Big 12 Road Win

USAFA, Colo.—No. 19-ranked North Dakota State overcame a slow start and won six of the final seven bouts to turn back the Air Force Academy 23-14 in a Big 12 Conference dual on Sunday, Dec. 9, in Clune Arena.

NDSU (4-1, 3-1 #Big12WR) is scheduled to host Oregon State at 7 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 20, in the Scheels Center.

The middleweights helped to turn the tide for North Dakota State. Trailing 14-7, Jaden Van Maanen (11-4, 4-1) grinded out a 4-1 decision over No. 24 Alex Opsal at 149 pounds for the Bison.

ndsulogoThen, NDSU 157 Nick Knutson (6-7, 2-3) gained a reversal with under 5-seconds remaining in the third period for an 8-6 decision over Alex Mossing. The pair entered the third tied at 4-4. Knutson recorded a takedown with 38-seconds left, but Mossing claimed a reversal with 10-seconds left. That cut the deficit to 14-13

Enter North Dakota State No. 17-ranked 165 Andrew Fogarty, who established himself early and then recorded his fourth pin of the season over Marcus Amico at 1:59. Fogarty bounced from Friday’s loss to improve to 7-2 overall and 4-1 in duals.

NDSU sealed the win when 174-pounder Lorenzo De La Riva (9-6, 2-3) scored 16 unanswered points in a 16-2 major decision over Randy Menewether.

Air Force (1-2, 1-1 #Big12WR) came out strong and won the first three bouts including a pin at 30-seconds from heavyweight Kayne Hutchison to take a 12-0 lead.

North Dakota State No. 8 125-pounder Brent Fleetwood (13-2, 5-0) stopped Sidney Flores 5-0, while No. 17 133-pounder Cam Sykora (12-2, 4-0) posted a 13-2 major decision over John Twomey. Fleetwood and Van Maanen were the only two Bison to win twice over the weekend.

Sunday, Dec. 9, 2018
Clune Arena / USAFA, Colo.

#19 North Dakota State 23, Air Force 14
184—Tyler Wiederholt (AFA) dec Tyler McNutt (NDSU), 4-2
197—Andy McLaughlin (AFA) sudden victory-1 #20 Cordell Eaton (NDSU), SV-1 10-4
285—Kayne Hutchison (AFA) fall #24 Brandon Metz (NDSU), 0:33
125—#8 Brent Fleetwood (NDSU) dec Sidney Flores (AFA), 5-0
133—#17 Cam Sykora (NDSU) major dec John Twomey (AFA), MD 13-2
141—Garrett O’Shea (AFA) dec Gavin Sutton (NDSU), 6-1
149—Jaden Van Maanen (NDSU) dec #24 Alec Opsal (AFA), 4-1
157—Nick Knutson (NDSU) dec Alex Mossing (AFA)
165—#17 Andrew Fogarty (NDSU) fall Marcus Amico (AFA), 1:59
174—Lorenzo De La Riva (NDSU) major dec Randy Menewether (AFA)
AFA deducted team point, bench misconduct
Dual started at 184 pounds

Check out Bison Wrestling at and on Twitter.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?