St. Cloud State 45 Minot State 3

#1 St. Cloud State rolls to home victory over Minot State

The #1 ranked St. Cloud State University wrestling team (7-0, 2-0 NSIC) rolled to a 45-3 victory over NSIC rival Minot State (0-2, 0-1 NSIC) on Wednesday, Dec. 5 at Halenbeck Hall in St. Cloud, Minn. The victory was SCSU’s 35th consecutive dual match win and it continued SCSU’s unbeaten streak in NSIC dual meet action that dates back to Jan. 27. 2011.

SCSU opened the night with a tech fall win by Travis Swanson at 141-pounds. The extra points continued to roll in for the Huskies at 149-pounds as #2 ranked James Pleski gained a fall over Minot’s Tanner Crissler at 5:34. At 157-pounds, #9 Jake Barzowski notched another tech fall for the Huskies over Max Miller of Minot at 5:11.

At 165-pounds, #8 Devin FitzPatrick added SCSU’s third tech fall of the night at 6:49 of his match against Minot’s Tyler Sharron. #3 Kolton Eischens extended the Huskies’ lead with a 3:17 fall over Anthony Raupp of Minot at 174-pounds. SCSU’s lone setback on the night was a 7-3 victory by Minot’s Keegan Berry over Riley Vanik at 184. SCSU quickly returned to the win column in top fashion at 197-pounds as #1 ranked Vince Dietz posted a 4:04 fall over MSU’s Je-Mario Jones.

At 285-pounds, #11 Zach Muller tallied a 5-2 win over Minot’s Jordan Will and at 125-pounds, #2 ranked Brett Velasquez added a 9-2 decision over Minot’s Dean Arevalo. The evening was capped by #11 Garrett Vos at 133-pounds, who gained a fall at 6:42 over Minot’s Oscar Nellis.

The Huskies will continue their 2018-19 season on Saturday, Dec. 8 by hosting the Holiday Inn/Husky Open in the Halenbeck Hall Fieldhouse. The action starts at 9 a.m. and tickets for the tournament are available at the gate on Dec. 8. SCSU students get into the Husky Open for FREE.

#1 St. Cloud State 45 Minot State 3
141: Travis Swanson (SCS) over William Horton-Hayden (MSND) (TF 15-0 4:39)
149: James Pleski (SCS) over Tanner Crissler (MSND) (Fall 5:34)
157: Jake Barzowski (SCS) over Max Miller (MSND) (TF 21-6 5:11)
165: Devin Fitzpatrick (SCS) over Tyler Sharron (MSND) (TF 24-9 6:49)
174: Kolton Eischens (SCS) over Anthony Raupp (MSND) (Fall 3:17)
184: Keegan Berry (MSND) over Riley Vanik (SCS) (Dec 7-3)
197: Vince Dietz (SCS) over Je-Mario Jones (MSND) (Fall 4:04)
285: Zachary Muller (SCS) over Jordan Will (MSND) (Dec 5-2)
125: Brett Velasquez (SCS) over Dean Arevalo (MSND) (Dec 9-2)
133: Garrett Vos (SCS) over Oscar Nellis (MSND) (Fall 6:42)

SCSU is now 7-0, 2-0 NSIC; Minot State is now 0-2, 0-1 NSIC

Check out Huskies Wrestling at and on Twitter and Facebook.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?