Augsburg 32 Southwest Minnesota State 6

SMSU falls to nationally-ranked Augsburg

MARSHALL, Minn. – The Southwest Minnesota State wrestling team fell 32-6 to nationally-ranked, Augsburg University, in a non-conference dual on Saturday afternoon.

SMSU drops to 0-3 overall while Augsburg advances to an undefeated 8-0 on the season.

Augsburgs’ top-ranked wrestlers proved their rankings winning eight of the 10 bouts in the dual. SMSU’s No. 8 ranked, Cortez Arredondo faced the highest-ranked wrestler of the day, No. 2 Ryan Epps, and led for most of the bout. It wasn’t until Epps created a reversal in the final period to secure the 2-1 victory.

At 165, Kegen Fingalsen earned the first victory of the day with a decision victory over Josh Verbeten. Finelsen advances his record to 13-8 and earning his second consecutive victory this season.

Andrew Petersen earned the second and final victory of the dual with a 5-2 decision victory over Ethan Hofacker. Petersen improves his record to 17-7.

Augsburg hosts Concordia-Moorhead in a dual meet on Thursday (1/17) at 7 p.m. at Si Melby Hall.

Southwest Minnesota State (0-3) continues action hosting Upper Iowa on Friday at 7 p.m. in the PE Gym.

Augsburg 32 Southwest Minnesota State 6
125: No. 4 Victor Gliva (Augs) wins by fall at 6:38 over Willie Meine. SMSU 0, Auggie 6
133: No. 4 Sam Bennyhoff (Augs) wins by major decision (11-3) over Brock Buysse. SMSU 0, Auggie 10
141: No. 3 David Flynn (Augs) wins by fall at 6:21 over Riley Altenburg. SMSU 0, Auggie 16.
149: No. 7 Alex Wilson (Augs) wins by major decision (11-3) over Justin Haneke. SMSU 0, Auggie 20
157: No. 2 Ryan Epps (Augs) wins by decision (2-1) over Cortez Arredondo. SMSU 0, Auggie 23.
165: Kegen Fingalsen (SMSU) wins by decision (9-5) over Josh Verbeten. SMSU 3, Auggie 23.
174: No. 5 Tanner Vassar (Augs) wins by decision in sudden victory (9-7) over Dru Kuchenbaker. SMSU 26-3.
184: Solomon Nielsen (Augs) wins by decision (6-3) over Cole Hennen. SMSU 3, Auggie 29.
197: No. 4 Lance Benick (Augs) wins by decision (8-5) over Neil Hanson SMSU 3, Auggie 32.
285: Andrew Petersen (SMSU) wins by decision (5-2) over Ethan Hofacker. SMSU 6, Auggie 32.

Check out Mustangs Wrestling at and on Twitter.

View More College News