Minnesota State 25, Northern State 9

#9 Mavericks Stay Perfect in NSIC Action with Win Over #25 Wolves

MANKATO, Minn. — It was a dominant effort by #9 Minnesota State Friday night at Taylor Center as it sealed a 25-9 dual victory against #25 Northern State.

With the win the Mavericks improve 5-1 record on the season with 3-0 NSIC record, while Northern State drops to 6-4 on the season and now 3-4 in NSIC competition.

It was a tightly contested dual through the first six matches of the evening as teams split to a 9-9 score early on. Freshman Trevor Turriff (184 lbs.) stretched the Maverick lead to 9-3 with a big 9-3 decision over Kaden Campbell. NSU’s Caleb Lefferdink was able to take control early in the sixth match and walked away with a 10-4 decision over freshman Max Villnow (285 lbs.) to knot up the score at 9-9.

MSU’sAndrew McFall (125 lbs.) then obtained a forfeit victory improving the teams score to 15-9. From then on, it was all Mavericks as they went 3-0 in the final three matches including a big major decision victory by senior #1 George Farmah(133 lbs.) over Kenny Jones.

The Guillotine Action Photos

To close out the evening junior Louie Sanders (141 lbs.) had an amazing upset decision victory over #5 Kolton Roth put it the dual out of reach for Wolves. Then to top off a terrific evening of Maverick wrestling, sophomore #7 Kyle Rathman (149 lbs.) had a big 10-3 decision victory over #10 Caden Moore.

Minnesota State returns to the mat this Saturday as the Mavericks take on Southwest Minnesota State at 2pm in Taylor Center.

Minnesota State 25, Northern State 9
157: Daniel Close (MSU) Wins a 7-4 decision vs Walker Carr (NSU) | 3-0 MSU
165: Billy Holton (NSU) wins a 6-3 decision vs Logan Saltou (MSU) | 3-3
174: Zach Johnston (MSU) wins a 9-4 decision vs. Tanner Wiese (NSU) | 6-3 MSU
184: Trevor Turriff (MSU) Wins 9-3 decision vs Kaden Campbell (NSU) | 9-3 MSU
197: Diego Gallegos (NSU) wins a 6-1 decision vs Dylan Butts (MSU) | 9-6 MSU
285: Caleb Lefferdink (NSU) wins a 10-4 decision vs Max Villnow (MSU) | 9-9
125: Andrew McFall (MSU) wins via forfeit | 15-9
133: George Farmah (MSU) wins an 11-3 major decision vs Kenny Jones (NSU) | 19-9 MSU
141: Louie Sanders (MSU) wins an 8-6 decision vs Kolton Roth (NSU) | 22-9 MSU
149: Kyle Rathman (MSU) wins a 10-3 decision vs Caden Moore (NSU) | 25-9

Check out Mavericks Wrestling at msumavericks.com and on Twitter.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?