Minnesota State 28, Minot State 9

Mavericks Dominate in Conference Opener vs. Minot State

MANKATO, Minn. — The #6 Minnesota State wrestling team opened its NSIC schedule on a high note Saturday afternoon at Taylor Center as it bested the Minot State Beavers 28-9.

With the win, the Mavericks improve to 3-1 on the season, including a 1-0 NSIC record. With the loss, the Beavers drop to 0-4 on the season, including a 0-3 conference record.

The Mavericks didn’t waste any time jumping out in front as they won the first four matches of the contest to go up 14-0. Senior George Farmah (133 lbs.) got things started with a 13-3 major decision win over Liam Hayden, before junior Louie Sanders (141 lbs.) posted a 3-1 decision victory over Jered Sublet. Sophomore Kyle Rathman (149 lbs.) added an 18-2 tech fall victory over Tanner Crissler, before senior Daniel Close tallied a 5-1 decision victory over Zach Berry.


Minnesota State would win four of the final five matches of the dual to lock down the 28-9 win. Junior Zach Johnston (174 lbs.) posted a 10-2 major decision over Anthony Raupp, before freshman Trevor Turriff (184 lbs.) notched a 12-2 major decision vs. Keegan Berry. Freshman Dylan Butts (197 lbs.) secured the dual victory for Minnesota State as he bested Je-Mario Jone with an 8-3 decision, before junior Andrew McFall (125 lbs.) finished the dual with a 4-3 win over Dean Arevalo.

Minot State’s two victories came via Nathan Baca (165 lbs.) and Jordan Will (285 lbs.). Baca scored a pinfall victory over junior Logan Saltou at the 2:23 mark of the match, before Will tallied a 10-5 decision over freshman Max Villnow.

Minnesota State will continue its season on Thursday, Jan. 7, as it hosts the Upper Iowa Peacocks at Taylor Center. The dual is scheduled to begin at 7:00 p.m. MSU originally planned to take part in the Coker Duals on Jan. 12 but will no longer make the trip to Hartsville, S.C.

Minnesota State 28, Minot State 9
133: George Farmah (MSU) wins 13-3 major decision vs. Liam Hayden (Minot) | MSU 4-0
141: Louie Sanders (MSU) wins 3-1 decision vs. Jered Sublet (Minot) | MSU 7-0
149: Kyle Rathman (MSU) wins 18-2 tech fall vs. Tanner Crissler (Minot) at 5:42 | MSU 12-0
157: Daniel Close (MSU) wins 5-1 decision vs. Zach Berry (Minot) | MSU 14-0
(1pt team deduction to MSU for unsportsmanlike conduct)
165: Nathan Baca (Minot) pinfall victory at 2:23 vs. Logan Saltou (MSU) | 14-6 MSU
174: Zach Johnston (MSU) wins 10-2 major decision vs. Anthony Raupp (Minot) | 18-6 MSU
184: Trevor Turriff (MSU) wins 12-2 major decision vs. Keegan Berry (Minot) | 22-6 MSU
197: Dylan Butts (MSU) wins an 8-3 decision vs. Je-Mario Jones (Minot) | 25-6
285: Jordan Will (Minot) wins 10-5 decision vs. Max Villnow (MSU) | 25-9 MSU
125: Andrew McFall (MSU) wins 4-3 decision vs. Dean Arevalo (Minot) | 28-9 MSU

Check out Mavericks Wrestling at msumavericks.com and on Twitter.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?