2019 MWCA All-State Academic Wrestling Team Named

The 2019 edition of the MWCA All-State Academic Wrestling Team is a group of great wrestlers that consists of 22 seniors and six juniors. “The MWCA gives this award to the state’s best wrestlers who also excel in the classroom. These young wrestlers are not only dedicated on the mat but also exemplify what it means to be a student-athlete. Coaches should be striving to develop young adults like the wrestlers recognized for the award,” commented Joe Puncochar, MWCA All-State Academic Chairperson.

On this year’s team, four student-athletes carry a perfect 4.0 GPA: Ben Lunn of Shakopee, Sebas Swiggum of Apple Valley, Kellen Schauer of Grand Rapids, and Garson Schorr of Kasson-Mantorville. Overall, this year’s squad carried a 3.59 combined GPA. These student-athletes are not only getting it done on the mat, but they are also getting it done in the classroom! The 28 selected to be recognized were among 134 applicants statewide. The dedicated coaches of the MWCA has increased the number of nominations over each of the past three seasons.

On the mat, this team has earned a total of six state championships. They have also earned 3,966 wins with a winning percentage of over 80%! Leading the way is two-time state champion: Patrick Kennedy of Kasson-Mantorville who is seeking his third state title as only a junior. The leading point scorer (using the scoring system shown below) was Willmar’s State Champion Cael Carlson with a whopping, 1277 points.

  1. Cumulative GPA – example: 3.95 x 2 = 790 points
  2. Overall matches wrestled – wins and losses – 1 point per match
  3. Winning percentage – 77% = 77 points
  4. State Tournament Participation – 25 points per year
  5. State Tournament Placement – 1st (50 points), 2nd (40), 3rd (35), 4th (25), 5th (20) and 6th (10)

Other State Champions selected to the team were Albert Lea’s Zach Glazier, Bertha-Hewitt-Verndale-Parkers Prairie’s Craig Orlando, and Waconia’s Cade Mueller.

Class AA led the way again with 12 honorees, while Class A and AAA were represented with eight members each. This year’s team had many members from the same teams. Perham led the way with four members on the team – the first time that has ever been done! Kasson-Mantorville, Apple Valley, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa, Bertha-Hewitt-Verndale-Parkers Prairie, and Willmar each had two representatives. Members who have earned this award two years in a row are Jake Andres of Pierz, Cael Carlson of Willmar, Zach Glazier of Albert Lea, Jacob Bennett of Zumbrota-Mazeppa, and Ty Moser of Perham.

“These student-athletes are undoubtedly some of the state’s most talented wrestlers while also putting in work in the classroom. The skills and knowledge they earn throughout high school will most definitely lead them to successful endeavors in their futures. This year’s team has much to be proud of and their coaches and families should be too,” said Puncochar. “Wrestlers, don’t forget to thank your coaches for taking the time to recognize your accomplishments in the classroom and nominating you for this award.”

The 28 honorees will be awarded plaques at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul during the State Tournament.

2019 Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association (MWCA) All-State Academic Team

Wt. ClassWrestlerSchool
106Emily ShilsonMounds View
106Owen WernerPerham
113Zach HaireBreckenridge
113Ben LunnShakopee
120Ashton ClarkPark Rapids
120Quinn KernBH/V/PP
126Canon SwansonBelgrade-Brooten-Elrosa
126Jake AndresPierz
132Brett WillabyWindom/Mt. Lake
132Leighton RachPerham
138Sebas SwiggumApple Valley
138Cade LundeenThief River Falls
145Cael CarlsonWillmar
145Tyler BentsBelgrade-Brooten-Elrosa
152Kellen SchauerGrand Rapids
152Brady GrossApple Valley
160Jackson HeldRoyalton-Upsala
160Cade MuellerWaconia
170Patrick KennedyKasson-Mantorville
170Riley HabischBuffalo
182Zach GlazierAlbert Lea
182Jacob BennettZumbrota-Mazeppa
195Zachary PetersonPerham
195Lincoln ShinnWillmar
220Ty MoserPerham
220Gabe ZierdenAlbany
Hwt.Garsen SchorrKasson-Mantorville
Hwt.Craig OrlandoBH-V-PP

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?