Four Bison Wrestlers receive seeds and draws

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The NCAA Division I Wrestling Championship brackets were revealed Wednesday, March 13, for North Dakota State University 125-pounder Brent Fleetwood, 133 Cam Sykora, 165 Andrew Fogarty and 174 Lorenzo De La Riva.

The NCAA tournament is scheduled for Thursday, March 21 through Saturday, March 23, at PPG Paints Arena in Pittsburgh, Pa.

Fleetwood (24-4), a redshirt senior Smyrna, Del., is the No. 10 seed at 125 pounds and will square off against Big 12 opponent Cole Verner of Wyoming in the first round. Fleetwood, who was the 2019 Big 12 runner-up, is making his third trip to the NCAA tournament and has a 1-4 record. He defeated Verner 6-5 in a Big 12 dual on Dec. 8.

Sykora (20-8), a redshirt junior from Wheaton, Minn., opens against Big12 opponent and No. 12 seed Montorie Bridges (29-8) of Wyoming. Sykora, who is in the top 10 nationally with nine tech falls, is making his third appearance at the NCAA tournament and has a 2-4 record. He lost 6-5 to Bridges at the Cliff Keen Invitational on Dec. 1 and is 0-2 overall.

Fogarty (20-4), a redshirt junior from Jordan, Minn., is the No. 13 seed at 165 pounds and will wrestle Gardner-Webb’s Tyler Marinelli (26-2). Fogarty, who was the Big 12 runner-up for the second straight season, is making his third trip to the NCAA tournament and has a 1-4 record. It is the first meeting between Fogarty and Marinelli.

De La Riva (26-9), a redshirt junior from Folsom, Calif., opens against No. 9 seed Devin Skatzka (26-8) of Minnesota. De La Riva, who placed third at the Big 12 tournament, advances to the NCAA championships for the second time. It is the first meeting between De La Riva and Skatzka.

North Dakota State tied for 45th in the 2018 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships team standings.

Check out Bison Wrestling at and on Twitter.

View More College News