Mustangs Learn Championships Draws

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division II wrestling committee has announced the brackets for the 2019 NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships in Cleveland, Ohio. The two-day championship will be held on March 8-9 at the Wolstein Center and is hosted by Ashland University and the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission.

Southwest Minnesota State University has a pair of student-athletes competing at the championship, including senior, 157-pounder Cortez Arredondo and senior, 184-pounder Griffin Osing.

Arredondo, a native of West. St. Paul, Minn., won the NCAA Super Region V championship last Saturday in Moorhead, Minn., with a perfect 4-0 record. Arredondo (25-5) will face Skyler Lykins (11-6) from Colorado School of Mines in the opening round.

Arredondo is making his second straight appearance at the NCAA Championship after recording a 1-2 mark last season in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Osing (19-9), a native of Blakesburg, Iowa, placed third at last week’s region tournament and will battle Brock Biddle (23-2) from Pitt.-Johnstown in the opening round.

The NCAA championships will take place on Friday beginning with Session I at 10 a.m., followed by Session II at 4 p.m. The championship resumes on Saturday with Session III at 9 a.m., with the finals starting at 6 p.m. All times are Central.

The top eight in each class earn NCAA All-American honors.

SMSU has now had 46 individuals qualify for the NCAA Championships, with 12 All-Americans and one national champion, since moving to Division II in 1996.

A total of 180 wrestlers qualified for this year’s NCAA Championships with three per weight class from the six Super Regionals.

NCAA Division II National Championships Brackets