NDSU Run Ends at NCAA Wrestling Championships

PITTSBURGH, Pa. – North Dakota State’s run at the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships ended during Session IV on Friday, March 22, before 18,013 spectators at PPG Paints Arena. The Bison are 36th in the team standings with 6.5 points.

Fleetwood, a senior from Smyrna, Del., missed the All-America medal round at 125 pounds by one match. He lost a hard-fought 5-3 sudden victory-1 decision to Oregon State’s Ronnie Bresser. Bresser scored on a takedown, Fleetwood on an escape in the first period.

Fleetwood held the top position for a majority of the second period and built 1:26 riding time before gained an escape. Fleetwood escaped 10-seconds into the third and picked up a point for riding time. However, Bresser came up with a takedown in extra time to end the bout. Fleetwood end the season 27-6 and was 4-6 in three NCAA trips including 3-2 this year.

Fleetwood opened with a 6-point first period that included a takedown and 4-point near fall to roll to a 10-0 major decision over Malik Heinselman of Ohio State. He followed with his fourth overtime win of the season, a 4-2 sudden victory-1 decision over Purdue’s Devin Schroder. Fleetwood recorded a takedown 19-seconds into the extra period for the win.

NDSU 165-pounder Fogarty, a redshirt junior from Jordan, Minn., rallied from a 5-4 deficit in the third period for a 10-7 decision over Tanner Skidgel of Navy in his first consolation bout on Friday. However, Te’shan Campbell used a pair of 2-point near falls in the third period for a 7-1 decision over Fogarty. Fogarty completed the season with a 22-6 record and is now 3-6 in three trips to the NCAA tournament.

NC State 133-pounder Tariq Wilson won by 19-4 tech fall at 5:21 over Cam Sykora. Sykora finished the season 21-10 and is 3-6 in three NCAA appearances.

125 #10 Brent Fleetwood, RSr., Smyrna, Del. (Smyrna HS/Central Michigan)
Overall: 27-6 / NCAAChampionships: 4-6
W dec Carmen Ferrante (Penn), 2-0
L major dec #7 Pat Glory (Princeton), MD 10-0
W major dec Malik Heinselman (Ohio State), MD 10-0
W sudden victory-1 Devin Schroder (Purdue), SV-1 4-2
L sudden victory-1 Ronnie Bresser (Oregon State), SV-1 5-3

133 Cam Sykora, RJr., Wheaton, Minn. (Wheaton HS/South Dakota State)
Overall: 21-10 / Big 12 Championships: 3-6
L dec #12 Montorie Bridges (Wyoming), 3-2
W major dec Tim Rooney (Kent State), MD 13-2
L tech fall Tariq Wilson (NC State), TF 19-4 5:21

165 #13 Andrew Fogarty, RJr., Jordan, Minn. (Scott West HS)
Overall: 22-6 / NCAA Championships: 3-6
W tech fall Tyler Marinelli (Gardner-Webb), TF 17-2 7:00
L dec #4 Evan Wick (Wisconsin), 9-2
W dec Tanner Skidgel (Navy), 10-7
L dec Te’shan Campbell (Ohio State), 7-1

174 Lorenzo De La Riva, RJr., Folsom, Calif. (Folsom HS/Cal State Bakersfield)
Overall: 26-11 / NCAA Championships: 0-4
L major dec #9 Devin Skatzka (Minnesota), MD 15-3
L major dec Hayden Hastings (Wyoming), MD 13-4

Check out Bison Wrestling at gobison.com and on Twitter.

View More College News

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.