Rathman and Sanders Garner All-NSIC Honors

Mankato, Minn. – A pair of Minnesota State wrestlers have been named to the 2018-19 Northern Sun Intercollegiate All-Conference Team.

Sophomore Kyle Rathman and junior Louie Sanders were named to the NSIC All-Conference Second Team.

Rathman, a native of Apple Valley, Minn., made his first appearance at the NCAA Division II national championship meet this year and earned All-America honors wrestling in the 149-lb division with a seventh-place finish. Rathman, who placed second at the NCAA DII Super Region V meet to earn a trip to nationals, concluded his second year with the Mavericks with a 19-5 mark and for his college career owns a 41-15 record.

Sanders, who hails from Truman, Minn., made his first appearance at the national meet this year where he went 1-2 while competing at 141 lbs. Sanders, who finished his junior season with a 15-7 record, earned a berth at nationals after placing second at the NCAA Super Region V meet.

NSIC Wrestler of the Year: Vince Dietz, R-Sr., 197, St. Cloud State
NSIC Rookie of the Year: Garrett Vos, R-Fr., 133, St. Cloud State
NSIC Coach of the Year: Steve Costanzo (13th Season) St. Cloud State

2018-19 NSIC All-Conference

First Team All-Conference WTYRSchoolHometown
Cole Jones125So.MSUMGrand Rapids, Minn.
Tate Barnhardt133Sr.UMaryBismarck, N.D.
Travis Swanson141R-Sr.SCSUCambridge, Minn.
James Pleski149R-Jr.SCSUStacy, Minn.
Cortez Arredondo157Sr.SMSUWest St. Paul, Minn. 
Brock Benitz165So.UIUMosinee, Wis.
Kolton Eischens174Jr.SCSUPierz, Minn.
Chance Helmick184R-Sr.SCSUBeatrice, Neb.
Vince Dietz197R-Sr.SCSUHomer Glen, Ill.
Zach Muller285R-Fr.SCSUWoodridge, Ill.
Second Team All-ConferenceWTYRSchoolHometown
Brett Velasquez125R-Sr.SCSUBennington, Neb.
Justin Folley133Jr.UIUMatteson, Ill.
Louis Sanders141Jr.MSUMadelia, Minn.
Kyle Rathman149So.MSUApple Valley, Minn.
Jake Barzowski157R-So.SCSUPark Ridge, Ill.
Devin Fitzpatrick165R-So.SCSUMahtomedi, Minn.
Lukas Poloncic174Sr.AUGIEGillette, Wyo.
Dalton Hahn184So.UIU Loganville, Wis.
Clayton Wahlstrom197Sr.AUGIECuster, S.D.
Triston Westerlund285Jr.UIUAlbert Lea, Minn.

Check out Mavericks Wrestling at msumavericks.com and on Twitter.

View More College News

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.