Three Jackrabbits Receive Pre-Seeds

IRVING, Texas — Three South Dakota State wrestlers appear in the top eight of their respective weight classes as league officials announced Monday the pre-seeds for this weekend’s Big 12 Conference Wrestling Championship.

Leading the Jackrabbit contingent are Henry Pohlmeyer and Zach Carlson, who are each seeded seventh. A junior from Johnston, Iowa, Pohlmeyer has compiled a 19-11 record in the 149-pound weight class. He stands to receive a first-round bye and is scheduled to face the winner between Wyoming’s Jaron Jensen and second-seeded Max Thomsen of Northern Iowa in the quarterfinals. Pohlmeyer defeated both of his potential quarterfinal opponents in dual action this season.

Carlson, a junior from Kerkhoven, Minnesota, has posted a 20-7 record so far in the 184-pound division. He is matched up against Michael Otomo of North Dakota State in preliminary action, with the winner moving on to face No. 2 seed Drew Foster of Northern Iowa. Carlson owns two victories over Otomo this season, winning by decision at the UNI Open in December and by technical fall during dual action last month.

Rounding out the Jackrabbits’ seeded wrestlers is No. 8 Colten Carlson at 157 pounds. A sophomore from Willmar, Minnesota, Colten Carlson has notched a 10-12 record in advance of his preliminary matchup versus Grant LaMont of Utah Valley. The winner is slated to wrestle top-seeded Justin Thomas of Oklahoma in the quarterfinals.

Each weight class features eight seeded wrestlers. Pairings are determined by a draw as the four unseeded wrestlers will each face a seeded wrestler, with the other four seeded wrestlers receiving an opening-round bye. The conference’s coaches will meet in person Friday to finalize the brackets.

Big 12 Championships Pre-Seeds

SDSU’s seven other entrants in the 2019 Big 12 Wrestling Championship are unseeded and are set to wrestle in preliminary-round action Saturday, starting at 11 a.m. Projected matchups include:

  • 125: Gregory Coapstick vs. #2 Brent Fleetwood (North Dakota State)
  • 133: Rylee Molitor vs. #1 Daton Fix (Oklahoma State)
  • 141: Aric Williams vs. #5 Kaid Brock (Oklahoma State)
  • 165: Logan Peterson vs. #6 Andrew Fogarty (North Dakota State)
  • 174: Samuel Grove vs. #5 Hayden Hastings (Wyoming)
  • 197: Martin Mueller vs. #4 Tanner Orndorff (Utah Valley)
  • 285: Blake Wolters vs. #7 Brandon Ngati (West Virginia)

The Big 12 Conference Wrestling Championship serves as the qualifying tournament for the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships later this month. All-mat coverage of the Big 12 Wrestling Championship will be available through (subscription required). Session times for action at BOK Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma, are 11 a.m. and 5 p.m. Saturday, concluding with sessions at noon and 7 p.m. on Sunday.

Check out Jackrabbit Wrestling at and on Twitter | Facebook | Instagram.

View More College News

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.