Augsburg wrestlers honored at Minnesota Capitol

ST. PAUL, Minn. — The Augsburg University wrestling team was honored for its 2019 NCAA Division III national championship at the Minnesota State Capitol on Tuesday, receiving congratulatory proclamations from the House of Representatives and the Governor’s office.

Five national tournament qualifiers from the 2019 Auggie squad — 157-pound national champion Ryan Epps (JR, Cannon Falls, Minn./Cannon Falls HS), 149-pound fourth-place finisher Alex Wilson (SR, Oak Grove, Minn./St. Francis HS), 125-pound fifth-place finisher Victor Gliva (JR, Farmington, Minn./Farmington HS), 174-pound fifth-place finisher Tanner Vassar (JR, Maple Lake, Minn./Maple Lake HS) and 133-pound four-time national qualifier Sam Bennyhoff (SR, Mound, Minn./Mound-Westonka HS) — joined coaches Jim Moulsoff, Tony Valek and Justin Koob and Athletic Director Jeff Swenson at the State Capitol on Tuesday. Continue reading at