Green Tops Gold 27-24 in Annual NDSU Scrimmage

FARGO, N.D. – Returning 149-pounder Jaden Van Maanen won the final bout and was one of three double-winners on the night as the Green edged the Gold 27-24 in the annual North Dakota State University wrestling scrimmage on Thursday, Oct. 24, before 203 spectators at Scheels Center in the Sanford Health Athletic Complex.

North Dakota State is scheduled to open the regular season at 2 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 3, against Cal State Bakersfield. The Roadrunners, coached by former Bison assistant Manny Rivera, wrestles at Minnesota on Friday, Nov. 1.

Van Maanen, a redshirt sophomore from La Crosse, Wis., joined teammates redshirt sophomore 141-pounder Sawyer Degen and redshirt freshman 174 Jimmy Noel to win a pair of matches during the scrimmage.

Close calls were the theme of the evening as only two of the 15 bouts were decided by bonus points including a pin by Brandon Metz at 2:33 at 285 pounds and a 10-0 major decision by Van Maanen. Five matches were decided by two points, while four others were by three points.

Noel won his first match at 174 by injury default at 2:12 over NCAA qualifier Lorenzo De La Riva and then recorded a takedown 39-seconds into the first sudden victory period for a 7-5 decision over Jesse Shearer. Degen held the top position twice in a 3-2 win over Sam Stuhl and then a 5-2 decision over Dylan Droegemueller.

TJ Pottinger used a takedown with 18-seconds left in the first sudden victory period for a 7-5 win at 184 pounds, while 157-pound redshirt freshman Jared Franek recorded a takedown midway in the third period and had 1-minute, 42-seconds of riding time in a 7-5 win over Luke Weber. Three-time NCAA qualifier and two-time Big 12 Conference runner-up Andrew Fogarty held on for a 6-5 win over Austin Brenner.

Thursday, Oct. 24, 2019

Green 27, Gold 24
Scheels Center / Fargo, N.D.
1-141—Sawyer Degen (GOLD) dec Sam Stuhl (GREEN), 3-2
2-141—Dylan Droegemueller (GREEN) dec Sam Hampton (GOLD), 8-5
3-157—Luke Weber (GREEN) dec. Nick Knutson (GOLD), 6-2
4-174—Jimmy Noel (GOLD) inj. def. #24 Lorenzo De La Riva (GREEN), INJ 2:12
5-174—Jesse Shearer (GOLD) dec Michael Otomo (GREEN), 7-5
6-125—McGwire Midkiff (GREEN) dec Corey Gamet (GOLD), 8-2
7-149—Jaden Van Maanen (GREEN) major dec Austin Braun (GOLD), MD 10-0
8-165—#8 Andrew Fogarty (GREEN) dec Austin Brenner (GOLD), 6-5
9-184—TJ Pottinger (GOLD) sudden victory-1 Noah Cressell (GREEN), SV-1 7-5
10-197—Cordell Eaton (GREEN) dec Cole Witzig (GOLD), 5-2
11-285—#27 Brandon Metz fall (GREEN) fall Michael Nelson (GOLD), 2:33
12-141—Sawyer Degen (GOLD) dec Dylan Droegemueller (GREEN), 5-2
13-174—Jimmy Noel (GOLD) sudden victory-1 Jesse Shearer (GREEN), SV-1 7-5
14-157—Jared Franek (GOLD) dec Luke Weber (GREEN), 7-5
15-149—Jaden Van Maanen (GREEN) dec Michael Nelson (GOLD), 3-0

Referee—Guy Kimball

#TrackWrestling rankings

Check out Bison Wrestling at and on Twitter.

View More College News