MSUM Wrestlers Place Two at Bison Open

FARGO, N.D. — Senior Zach Scott and sophomore Jordan Urbach both placed to lead the Minnesota State University Moorhead wrestling team at the 49th annual Bison Open which was held on Saturday in Fargo, N.D. The Dragons competed against many Division I wrestlers from North Dakota State, South Dakota State and Minnesota at the meet.

Scott, who was a national qualifier in 2017-18 and redshirted last season, went 3-2 at 149 pounds. He beat Devin Steidler of Mary, 9-7 in the first round before losing to Brayton Lee of Minnesota in the second round. Scott followed with a 14-7 win over Tanner Pasvogel of St. Cloud State and then advanced by medical forfeit. After being pinned, Scott came back for a 7-3 win over Mary’s Chandler Mooney in the fifth-place match.

Urbach went 2-3 at 197 to finish in sixth. He pinned Jaquarius Middlebrooks of Minot State in the first round in 1:47 and then lost to Cordell Eaton of NDSU, 12-4. Urbach then beat NDSU’s Ty Moser 5-3 before losing his final two matches of the day.

Sophomore Evan Foster went 2-2 at 174 for MSUM but did not place.

2019 Bison Open Results

The Dragons are back in action on Nov. 16 at the Finn Grinaker Open hosted by Concordia College.

MSUM wrestlers:

133-Joey Nerdahl (0-2)
—bye in first round
—pinned by Ryan Ripplinger (NDSU), 2:17
—pinned by Nic Cantu (SCSU), 3:49

141-Mason Schulz (0-2)
—lost to Ben Brancale (Minn), 11-1
—lost to Marcos Polanco (Minn), 5-0

149-Zach Scott (3-2), 5th
—dec. Devin Steidler (Mary), 9-7
—lost to Brayton Lee (Minn), 19-3
—dec. Tanner Pasvogel (SCSU), 14-7
—def. Peyton Smith, medical forfeit
—pinned by Henry Pohlmeyer (SDSU), 3:32
—dec. Chandler Mooney (Mary), 7-3

Ethan Kiehm (0-2), unattached
—lost to Jakob Bergeland (Minn.), 17-0
—lost to Mandt 12-6

Maxwell Dascher (0-2), unattached
—lost to Steidler, 6:57
—lost to Pasvogel, 9-7

157-Braydon Ortloff (1-2), unattached
—lost to Caron Broisma (Minn.), 18-2
—pinned Ezekial Williamson (SCSU), 5:49
—lost to Cade DeVos, 12-4

Ryan Stenson (0-2)
—lost to Kasper McIntosh (Minn.), 16-0
—lost to Dylan Martinez (Minn.), 15-1

Josh Irwin (0-2), unattached
—lost to Baylor Fernandes (Minn.), 17-0
—lost to Dalton Lakmann (SDSU), 14-9

174-Evan Foster (2-2)
—pinned Isaac Bertalotto (Minot), 4:32
—lost to Tyler Ryan (SCSU), 11-5
—pinned Sakai Kelly (SCSU), 4:20
—lost to Samuel Grove (SDSU), 5-4

184-Mitch Kotschevar (1-2)
—pinned Grant Little (Mary), 6:22
—lost to TJ Pottinger (NDSU), 3-2
—lost to Caleb Orris (SDSU), 10-5

197-Jordan Urbach (2-3), 6th place
—pinned Jaquarius Middlebrooks (Minot), 1:47
—lost to Cordell Eaton (NDSU), 12-4
—dec. Ty Moser (NDSU), 5-3
—lost to Dylan Anderson (Minn.), 10-2
—lost to Garrett Joles (Minn.), 9-2

285-Jaden Oestren (1-2), unattached
Opening round bye
—pinned by Chase O’Connor (Minn.), 2:42
—dec. Ramiro Macias, 6-3
—lost to Jacob Belland (Minot), 8-2

Check out Dragon Wrestling at and on Twitter and Facebook.

View More College News