Minnesota State 20, UW-Parkside 18

Mavericks Overcome Slow Start to Win Dual vs UW-Parkside

MANKATO, Minn. — The No. 8 Minnesota State wrestling team defeated the UW-Parkside Rangers, 20-18, Thursday night at Taylor Center.

With the win. The Mavericks start the 2019-20 season with a 1-0 record, while UW-Parkside falls to 1-1.

The Mavericks fell behind 9-0 after the first two matches in the dual. AT 125 lbs., UWP’s Joe Arroyo won by an 11-1 over MSU’s Trenton McManus. A 20-5 tech fall win for Airk Furseth over Cole Gille at 125 lbs., gave the Rangers a 9-0 lead.

The Mavericks got on the board at 141 lbs., when Louie Sanders defeated Pernevlon Sheppard by an 8-4 decision to make it 9-3. The Mavericks followed that with 8-3 and 9-6 decision wins byKyle Rathman at 149 lbs., and Cooper Siebrecht at 157 lbs., respectively, to tie things up at 9-9.

The Rangers regained a 12-9 lead when Shane Gantz defeated Logan Saltou by an exciting 6-4 decision in sudden victory at 165 lbs.

A big 23-8 tech fall win for Zach Johnston at 174 lbs., gave the Mavericks a 14-12 lead, and they held onto the lead the rest of the night. At 184 lbs., MSU’s Trevor Turriff won by pinfall over Sherman Dixon in 5:43 to extend the Maverick lead to 20-12.

The dual rounded out with Matthew Blome dropping an 8-7 decision at 197 lbs., and Max Villnow dropping a 4-2 decision in sudden victory at heavyweight.

The Mavericks head to break now before hitting the mats again Saturday, Jan. 4, when MSU hosts Western Colorado at 12:00 p.m. at Taylor Center.

Minnesota State 20, UW-Parkside 18
125: Joe Aryo (UWP) wins an 11-1 major decision vs. Trenton McManus (MSU) | UWP 4-0 UWP
133: Airk Furseth (UWP) wins 20-5 tech fall over Cole Gille (MSU) | UWP 9-0
141: Louie Sanders (MSU) wins an 8-4 decision over Pernevlon Sheppard (UWP)| 9-3 UWP
149: Kyle Rathman (MSU) wins an 8-3 decision over Nathan Smith (UWP) | 9-6 UWP
157: Cooper Siebrecht (MSU) wins decision 9-6 over Nathan Hensley (UWP) | 9-9
165: Shane Gantz (UWP) wins a 6-4 decision over Logan Saltou (MSU) | 12-9 UWP
174: Zach Johnston (MSU) wins a 23-8 tech fall over Tanner Anthony (UWP) | 14-12 MSU
184: Trevor Turriff (MSU) wins with a pinfall at 5:43 over Sherman Dixon (UWP) | 20-12 MSU
197: Rodsean Graham (UWP) wins 8-7 decision over Mathew Blome (MSU) | 20-15 MSU
285: Nate Lloyd (UWP) wins in sudden victory decision 4-2 over Max Villnow (MSU) | 20-18 MSU

Check out Mavericks Wrestling at msumavericks.com and on Twitter.

View More College News