St. Cloud State 29 Northern State 9

The #1 ranked St. Cloud State University wrestling remained undefeated in 2019-20 with a 29-9 victory at Northern State on Friday, Dec. 13 in Aberdeen, S.D.

SCSU opened the match at 149 with a 7-2 victory by Joey Bianchini over NSU’s #8 Caden Moore. At 157, SCSU’s #2 James Pleski lost a 7-5 match against James Burks of Northern State before the Huskies’ Brock Schlough replied with a big 7-1 victory over NSU’s Billy Holtan at 165.

At 174-pounds, #3 ranked Kolton Eischens continued his solid start in 2019-20 with a 5:55 fall over NSU’s Tanner Wiese. At 184-pounds. #3 Tyree Overton collected a 6-4 victory over NSU’s Marcus Placide.

In action at 197-pounds, Noah Ryan charted a 5-2 win over NSU’s Diego Gallegos and #11 Ezayah Oropeza posted a 6-2 win over NSU’s Caleb Lefferdink at 285. Back at 125-pounds, SCSU’s Robby Horsman added bonus points with a 6:58 tech fall over NSU’s Landen Fischer by a 20-5 tally.

SCSU took a forfeit loss at 133-pounds before capping the night with an 8-6 victory at 141-pounds by #7 ranked Garrett Aldrich over NSU’s Kenny Jones.

SCSU has now won 53 consecutive dual matches and is just one win away from tying the team’s current record (also an NCAA DII record) of 54 consecutive dual wins from Jan. 30, 2011 to Jan. 12, 2014. SCSU’s last dual loss was against Indianapolis on Jan. 14, 2017. On the topic of streaks, SCSU has not lost a conference match since Jan. 27, 2001 against Augustana and the Huskies have not lost a home dual match since Feb. 14, 2010, against Upper Iowa.

The Huskies will continue their 2019-20 season on Jan. 5 with a home dual meet at Halenbech Hall against Western Colorado.

St. Cloud State 29 Northern State 9
149: Joey Bianchini (SCSU) over Caden Moore (NSU) (Dec 7-2)
157: James Burks (NSU) over James Pleski (SCSU) (Dec 7-5)
165: Brock Schlough (SCSU) over Billy Holtan (NSU) (Dec 7-1)
174: Kolton Eischens (SCSU) over Tanner Wiese (NSU) (Fall 5:55)
184: Tyree Overton (SCSU) over Marcus Placide (NSU) (Dec 6-4)
197: Noah Ryan (SCSU) over Diego Gallegos (NSU) (Dec 5-2)
285: Ezayah Oropeza (SCSU) over Caleb Lefferdink (NSU) (Dec 6-2)
125: Robby Horsman (SCSU) over Landen Fischer (NSU) (TF 20-5 6:58)
133: Dayne Morton (NSU) over (SCSU) (For.)
141: Garrett Aldrich (SCSU) over Kenny Jones (NSU) (Dec 8-6)

Check out Huskies Wrestling at and on Twitter and Facebook.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?