Minnesota State 27 Minot State 13

MINOT, N.D. — The No. 17 Minnesota State wrestling team (6-1, 2-0 NSIC) notched its second Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference dual win Saturday afternoon, defeating the No. 23 Minot State Beavers (4-5, 1-3 NSIC), 27-13, inside the Minot State Dome.

The Mavericks fell behind 7-0 after the first two matches. At 125 lbs., Trenton McManus lost an 11-5 decision to No. 6 Dean Arevalo. Cole Gille then fell to Oscar Nellis by a 14-2 major decision.

MSU won the next three matches to take a 13-7 lead. At 141 lbs., No. 9 Louie Sanders picked up a 14-5 major decision win over Lincoln Stormer. Kyle Rathman, who holds the No. 3 ranking at 149 lbs., followed with a pinfall win over Shadi Mitwalli in the second period to give the Mavericks their first lead of the day at 10-7. Cooper Siebrecht then wrestled Zach Berry in a back-and-forth match at 157 lbs. and came away with a 6-1 win.

The Maverick lead was trimmed in half when Logan Saltou fell to Nathan Baca by a 7-4 decision.

However, MSU won the next three matches to seal the dual win. At 174 lbs., No. 10 Zach Johnston cruised to a 19-4 technical fall win over Joey Lopez. Trevor Turriff followed with a 10-3 win over Noe Garcia before 197-pounder Matthew Blome concluded the Maverick victories with a pin in 27 seconds over Je-Mario Jones.

In the heavyweight match, David Griffet was defeated by No. 8 Jordan Will, 8-1, but the Mavericks defeated the Beavers 27-13.

Minnesota State returns to the mat Thursday when it travels to Marshall, Minn., to face Southwest Minnesota State. The dual will begin at 7:00 p.m.

#17 Minnesota State 27, #23 Minot State 13
125: #6 Dean Arevalo (MINOT) Dec. over Trenton McManus (MSU) 11-5| 3-0 MINOT
133: Oscar Nellis (MINOT) Maj. over Cole Gille (MSU) 14-2 | 7-0 MINOT
141: #9 Louie Sanders (MSU) Maj. over Lincoln Stormer (MINOT) 14-5 | 7-4 MINOT
149: #3 Kyle Rathman (MSU) Fall over Shafi Mitwalli (MINOT) | 10-7 MSU
157: Cooper Siebrecht (MSU) Dec. over Zach Berry (MINOT) 6-1 | 13-7 MSU
165: Nathan Baca (MINOT) Dec. over Logan Saltou (MSU) 7-4 | 13-10 MSU
174: #10 Zach Johnston (MSU) Tech. fall over Joey Lopez (MINOT) 19-4 | 18-10 MSU
184: Trevor Turriff (MSU) Dec. over Noe Garcia (MINOT) 10-3 | 21-10 MSU
197: Matt Blome (MSU) Fall over Je-Mario Jones (MINOT) 0:27 | 27-10 MSU
285: #8 Jordan WIll (MINOT) Dec. over David Griffet(MSU) 8-1 | 27-13 MSU

Check out Mavericks Wrestling at msumavericks.com and on Twitter.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?