NCAA wrestling award standings updated for 2020 season

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA has released updated standings for the 2020 NCAA Wrestling Awards that will be awarded in March at the respective Division I, II and III Wrestling Championships.

The inaugural NCAA Wrestling Awards were presented at the 2012 wrestling championships. The three awards, given in each division, honor the Most Dominant Wrestler as well as the student-athletes that have accumulated the most falls and the most technical falls throughout the course of the regular and postseasons.

For falls and tech falls to be counted for the awards they must come against opponents in the same division (i.e. Division II vs. Division II). Ties in the two categories are broken based on the aggregate time.


The top two positions for most falls in Division I remains the same from last week with Cornell 197-pounder Ben Darmstadt in first with 11, followed by 2019 champion Matt Stencel of Central Michigan in second with 10. Clarion 197-pounder Greg Bulsak and George Mason 149-pounder Colston DiBlasi each have nine.

Tiffin 174-pounder Hayden Bronne has pulled ahead in Division II with a pair of falls last week to reach 11 this season. He sits two falls ahead of the duo of Jacob Robb (Mercyhurst) and Nicholas Mason (Tiffin) with nine falls.

Joe Salerno of Washington & Lee and Kaidon Winters of RIT lead all NCAA divisions with 14 falls each. Salerno holds the tiebreaker with an aggregate time of 17:50, 15 minutes faster than Winters. Four more wrestlers have accumulated 13 falls in Division III with Dominic Skawiniak of Saint John’s (Minnesota) holding the tiebreaker in that group with his falls coming in just 22:12.

George Mason redshirt senior Alex Madrigal already holds a commanding lead in the race for the most tech falls in Division I with 10, three more than second place Pat Glory of Princeton.

Division II features a two-way tie with five tech falls between McKendree 197-pounder Ryan Vasbinder and Lindenwood (Missouri) national champion Carlos Jacquez who won at 125 pounds in 2019. Vasbinder holds the time tiebreaker by eight minutes over Jacquez. The race for third is tight with seven wrestlers holding four tech falls.

Division III features another tie atop the standings with two wrestlers reaching 10 tech falls. Roger Williams’ 149-pounder Tyler Gazaway has accumulated his 10 in 40:20, 13 minutes less than York (Pennsylvania) 125-pounder Jared Kuhns. Thomas Poklikuha (Stevens) and Ahken Chu (SUNY Oneonta) are one behind with nine tech falls.

The initial Most Dominant Wrestler standings will be released later this season to allow wrestlers to achieve the minimum number of matches required to be eligible for the standings.

Division I – Falls

1Ben DarmstadtCornell1971120:09
2Matt StencelCentral Mich.2851019:24
3Greg BulsakClarion197926:19
4Colston DiBlasiGeorge Mason149936:24
5Cody SurrattAir Force17489:51
6Denton SpencerVirginia149812:58
7Mitch McKeeMinnesota141815:25
8Jacob SchwarmUNI125817:22
9Ethan KarstenAmerican157710:14
10Randy Meneweather IIAir Force165712:24

Division II – Falls

1Hayden BronneTiffin1741115:11
2Jacob RobbMercyhurst285921:15
3Nicholas MasonTiffin197925:42
4AJ CooperFort Hays St.285827:57
5Luke McGonigalMercyhurst197712:12
6Jared campbellNotre Dame (OH)285715:38
7Tyler LawleyNewman133715:57
8Elijah MahanLindenwood (MO)174719:06
9Joel LeiseGannon184610:29
10Kaleb WarnerUNC Pembroke165619:40

Division III – Falls

1Joe SalernoWashington & Lee1491417:50
2Kaidon WintersRIT1651432:54
3Dominic SkawiniakSaint John’s (MN)1971322:12
4Nicholas MorenoCoast Guard1651335:45
5Gary NagleUrsinus1741339:28
6Kyle SlendornStevens1331352:41
7Jordan BlanchardWis.-Oshkosh1741217:54
8Evan FidelibusNew England Col.1491218:38
9Nico RamirezSouthern Va.2851223:39
10Joseph RossettiWilliams1411224:00

Division I – Tech Falls

1Alex MadrigalGeorge Mason1411046:28
2Pat GloryPrinceton125733:13
4Quentin PerezCampbell165627:57
5Derek SpannBuffalo133638:09
6Devin SchroderPurdue125515:18
7Cameron SykoraNorth Dakota St.133524:43
8Seth GrossWisconsin133527:00
9Cody SurrattAir Force174412:23
10Spencer LeeIowa125412:31

Division II – Tech Falls

1Ryan VasbinderMckendree197523.36
2Carlos JacquezLindenwood (MO)125531:56
3Josh PortilloNeb.-Kearney125415:32
4Connor CraigPitt-Johnstown184417:14
5Myles StarkeLander184417:48
6Carson SpeelmanAshland149419:26
7Curtis CoxAlderson Broaddus141420:44
8Gino SitaAlderson Broaddus184421:01
9Branson ProudlockFindlay141421:04
10Brandon MatthewsSeton Hill17437:46

Division III – Tech Falls

1Tyler GazawayRoger Williams1491040:20
2Jared KuhnsYork (PA)1251053:02
3Thomas PoklikuhaStevens165932:39
4Ahken ChuSUNY Oneonta141933:35
5Stephen MaloneyMessiah157832:49
6Travis JonesIthaca133837:53
7Aaron WilsonAugsburg149730:26
8Noah NiemanAdrian149732:15
9Aaron KellyBaldwin Wallace141735:21
10Ben DoughertyRIT165624:31

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?