Auggies dominate in first day of regional

MINNEAPOLIS — The Augsburg University men’s wrestling team was dominant in the first day of the 2020 NCAA Division III Upper Midwest Regional, with nine of its 10 wrestlers alive in championship contention on Friday.

The No. 3-ranked Auggies went 21-1 with 18 bonus-point victories in the first day of the two-day event. Augsburg wrestlers claimed 11 pins, six major decisions and a forfeit on Friday.

Aaron Wilson (SR, Oak Grove, Minn./St. Francis HS), ranked No. 4 nationally at 149 pounds, improved to 28-1 on the season with three wins, all by first-period pin. Of his 28 wins, Wilson has 12 pins, nine technical falls and two major decisions. He is now 99-30 in his collegiate career.

Top-ranked 184-pounder Tanner Vassar (SR, Maple Lake, Minn./Maple Lake HS) remained unbeaten at 29-0 with a pair of pins. Vassar now has 17 pins on the season, and is now 122-29 in his college career.

Two-time defending 165-pound national champion Lucas Jeske (SR, St. Michael, Minn./St. Michael-Albertville HS), currently ranked No. 3 nationally, scored a second-period pin and an 11-1 major decision to advance to the semifinals, improving to 7-2 on the season and 94-11 in his Auggie career.

Defending 141-pound national champion David Flynn (SR, Jordan, Minn./Jordan HS (Scott West)) also had a second-period pin and a 9-0 major decision win on Friday to move to the semifinals. Flynn, ranked No. 6 nationally, is now 15-3 on the season with six pins, two technical falls and four major decisions.

Making his first collegiate postseason appearance, 125-pounder Justin Stauffacher (FY, Belle Plaine, Minn./Belle Plaine HS (Scott West)) claimed a second-period pin and an 11-2 major decision to improve to 17-8 on the year.

At 157, two-time defending national champion Ryan Epps (SR, Cannon Falls, Minn./Cannon Falls HS) improved to 27-1 with a forfeit win and a pin, his 11th of the year. Epps, ranked No. 2 nationally at 157, has won 10 matches in a row and is now 140-12 in his collegiate career.

No. 2-ranked 133-pounder Victor Gliva (SR, Farmington, Minn./Farmington HS) improved to 23-4 on the year with a first-period pin and a 3-2 win on Friday, advancing to the semifinals.

Solomon Nielsen (JR, Luverne, Minn./Luverne HS) moved to 21-2 on the year with a pair of major decisions, winning 11-3 and 11-0. He is ranked No. 5 nationally at 174 pounds.

Defending 197-pound national champion Lance Benick (JR, Scandia, Minn./Totino-Grace HS) returned to the lineup after injuries sidelined him for a month, and reached the semifinals with two victories, including an 11-0 major decision. He improved to 4-2 on the season and 44-10 in his Auggie career.

Tyler Kim (FY, Burnsville, Minn./Apple Valley HS) went 2-1 on Friday to remain in contention for a third-place finish and a national tournament berth. He scored a first-period pin in his opening match, then rallied back in the wrestlebacks with a 3-2 win. Kim is now 22-8 on the season.

TEAM SCORES AFTER DAY 1: 1. Augsburg 107.5; 2. Wisconsin-La Crosse 80.5; 3. Wisconsin-Whitewater 69.0; 4. Wisconsin-Stevens Point 59.0; 5t. Chicago (Ill.) 57.5; 5t. Wisconsin-Eau Claire 57.5; 7. Wisconsin-Platteville 55.5; 8. Concordia-Moorhead 53.5; 9. Wheaton (Ill.) 39.0; 10. Elmhurst (Ill.) 36.5; 11. Wisconsin-Oshkosh 27.5; 12. Saint John’s 25.0; 13. Concordia-Wisconsin 16.0; 14. Milwaukee School of Engineering (Wis.) 11.0; 15. Pacific (Ore.) 7.5; 16. Lakeland (Wis.) 2.5; 17. St. Olaf 0.5.

NCAA DIII Regional Upper Midwest Brackets/Results on

LOCATION: Si Melby Hall, Minneapolis.


125 — Justin Stauffacher
Champ. Round 1 – Justin Stauffacher (Augsburg) 16-8 won by fall over Eric English (Elmhurst) 0-1 (Fall 4:18)
Quarterfinal – Justin Stauffacher (Augsburg) 17-8 won by major decision over Denis Murphy (Wis.-Oshkosh) 0-1 (MD 11-2)

133 — Victor Gliva
Champ. Round 1 – Victor Gliva (Augsburg) 22-4 won by fall over Luke Wallace (St. Olaf) 2-9 (Fall 2:03)
Quarterfinal – Victor Gliva (Augsburg) 23-4 won by decision over Griffin Seyfried (Chicago) 1-1 (Dec 3-2)

141 — David Flynn
Champ. Round 1 – David Flynn (Augsburg) 14-3 won by fall over Chase Katzenmeyer (Wis.-Platteville) 11-13 (Fall 4:44)
Quarterfinal – David Flynn (Augsburg) 15-3 won by major decision over Josh Lawson (Elmhurst) 0-1 (MD 9-0)

149 — Aaron Wilson
Prelim – Aaron Wilson (Augsburg) 27-1 won by fall over Quinn Hoopman (Concordia Wisconsin) 6-13 (Fall 0:59)
Champ. Round 1 – Aaron Wilson (Augsburg) 27-1 won by fall over Mason Wheeler (Wis.-Stevens Point) 6-17 (Fall 1:05)
Quarterfinal – Aaron Wilson (Augsburg) 28-1 won by fall over Garrett Ruckdashel (Wis.-Platteville) 11-12 (Fall 1:59)

157 — Ryan Epps
Champ. Round 1 – Ryan Epps (Augsburg) 26-1 won by forfeit over Muzi Siseltha (Wis.-Oshkosh) 0-1 (For.)
Quarterfinal – Ryan Epps (Augsburg) 27-1 won by fall over Tristan Massie (Wis.-Eau Claire) 24-16 (Fall 2:34)

165 — Lucas Jeske
Champ. Round 1 – Lucas Jeske (Augsburg) 6-2 won by fall over Devin Keast (Wis.-Oshkosh) 0-1 (Fall 3:44)
Quarterfinal – Lucas Jeske (Augsburg) 7-2 won by major decision over Alexander Skaare (Concordia-M`head) 1-1 (MD 11-1)

174 — Solomon Nielsen
Champ. Round 1 – Solomon Nielsen (Augsburg) 20-2 won by major decision over Dominick (Richard) Reo (Chicago) 0-1 (MD 11-3)
Quarterfinal – Solomon Nielsen (Augsburg) 21-2 won by major decision over Kaden Spindler (Concordia-M`head) 1-1 (MD 11-0)

184 — Tanner Vassar
Champ. Round 1 – Tanner Vassar (Augsburg) 28-0 won by fall over Merrick O`Donnell (Concordia Wisconsin) 13-10 (Fall 1:21)
Quarterfinal – Tanner Vassar (Augsburg) 29-0 won by fall over Dominic Gallo (Elmhurst) 1-1 (Fall 3:46)

197 — Lance Benick
Champ. Round 1 – Lance Benick (Augsburg) 3-2 won by major decision over Josh Becker (Lakeland) 0-1 (MD 11-0)
Quarterfinal – Lance Benick (Augsburg) 4-2 won by decision over Doninic Skawiniak (St. John`s (MN)) 13-12 (Dec 4-2)

285 — Tyler Kim
Champ. Round 1 – Tyler Kim (Augsburg) 21-9 won by fall over Adam Gusky (Wis.-La Crosse) 0-1 (Fall 1:43)
Quarterfinal – Noah Carter (Wis.-Eau Claire) 19-10 won by decision over Tyler Kim (Augsburg) 21-10 (Dec 4-1)
Cons. Round 2 – Tyler Kim (Augsburg) 22-10 won by decision over Isiah Shultz (Concordia Wisconsin) 6-11 (Dec 3-2)

Check out Auggies Wrestling at and on Facebook and Twitter.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?