Augsburg to celebrate title teams at reunion on Thursday

Augsburg to celebrate ‘Reunion of 0s’ on Thursday

MINNEAPOLIS — The Augsburg University men’s wrestling program will celebrate six championship teams at its ‘Reunion of 0s’ on Thursday (2/13) during the team’s dual meet against Concordia University-Moorhead.

Reunions for the 1970 and 1980 Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference championship teams, the 1990 MIAC title and NCAA Division III national runner-up team, the 2000 MIAC title and NCAA Division III national championship team, and the 2010 NCAA Division III national championship team will be held, along with a 25-year reunion for the 1995 MIAC title and NCAA Division III national championship team.

Reunion activities will begin at 5 p.m. in the Kennedy Center, with a program to start at 6:45 p.m. The dual meet between the Auggies and Cobbers will start at 7:30 p.m. in Si Melby Hall, with a post-match social to follow in the Kennedy Center.

For more information on the reunion, contact Drew Privette at 612-330-1249 or at

Here’s a look at each of the reunion teams:

1970 — Under coach Ron Pfeffer, the Auggies went 7-0-1 in dual meets and won their third straight MIAC title and fourth in program history. Mike Good (134), Ron Johnson (142), Pat Marcy (150) and Mark Mattison (158) won MIAC individual titles, with Marcy earning the MIAC Tournament Most Valuable Wrestler honors.

1980 — Coaching in his final season at Augsburg, John Grygelko led the Auggies to their sixth straight MIAC crown, and the team finished 17th at the NAIA national tournament. Augsburg went 9-2 in dual meets. Rick Halverson (142), Brian Arvold (150) and Jeff Stoks (158) won MIAC individual titles, and Arvold (fourth) and Halverson (sixth) earned NAIA All-American honors.

1990 — Coach Jeff Swenson’s Auggies won their third straight MIAC title and tied its best-ever finish to that date in national competition, finishing second at the NCAA Division III national tournament. The Auggies went 12-0 in dual meets. A then-record eight Auggies won MIAC individual titles — Mitch Hegland (118), Joe Hoialmen (126), John Beatty (142), Tim Tousignant (150), Matt Kretlow (158), Kurt Habeck (167), Kevin Schiltz (190) and Chester Grauberger (HWT) — with Hegland earning Most Valuable Wrestler honors at the MIAC meet. Beatty became the first Auggie to ever win two national titles, and four other Auggies joined Beatty as All-Americans — Grauberger (third), Hoialmen (fourth), Hegland (fifth) and Schiltz (fifth).

1995 — Swenson’s Auggies claimed their ninth straight MIAC crown and 23rd in school history, and won the NCAA Division III national title for the third time in a five-year span. Augsburg was a perfect 16-0 in dual meets. Four Auggies won MIAC individual titles — Jim Hoard (118), Jesse Armbruster (126), Cliff Casteel (177) and Eric Betterman (HWT). The Auggies rallied in the final round of the NCAA tournament, overcoming a one-point deficit to win the national title by eight points. Armbruster and Tom Layte (150) won NCAA Division III national titles, with Layte earning NCAA tournament Most Outstanding Wrestler honors. In addition to Armbruster and Layte, Randy Eastman (second at 167), Dan Lewandowski (sixth at 190) and Betterman (sixth) earned All-American honors.

2000 — Swenson’s Auggies claimed their sixth NCAA Division III national title and the first of three straight crowns, while also winning its 28th MIAC title and 14th in a row, and going 12-1 in dual meets. Auggies won MIAC titles in nine of 10 weight classes — Darin Bertram (125), John Marchette (133), Brian Jones (141), Josh Cagle (149), Justin Baker (157), Nick Slack (174), Nik Lewandowski (184), Josh Clausen (197) and Ben Bauer (HWT), with Cagle earning MIAC tournament Most Valuable Wrestler honors and Bauer earning the tournament’s most pins in fastest time award. An NCAA-record four Auggies earned national titles — Cagle, Slack, Clausen and Bauer — with Cagle being named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Wrestler. In addition to the four titlists, Bertram (second), Lewandowski (third), Jones (fifth) and Marchette (sixth) earned All-American honors.

2010 — In his second year as head coach, Mark Matzek’s Auggies won the NCAA Division III national title for the 11th time in school history, while also winning the NCAA Great Lakes Regional qualifying tournament for the eighth straight year, going 12-0 in dual meets and winning the NWCA Division III National Duals title. Seven Auggies won Great Lakes Regional titles — Josh Roberts (125), Jafari Vanier (141), Tony Valek (149), Jason Adams (157), Orlando Ponce (165), Zach Molitor (174) and Jared Massey (197). The 2010 Auggies had the unique distinction of winning a national title without having an individual national champion, but won the crown on the strength of eight All-Americans — Paul Bjorkstrand (second at 133), Valek (second), Ponce (second), Adams (third), Massey (third), Roberts (fourth) and Andy Witzel (eighth at HWT).

Check out Auggies Wrestling at and on Facebook and Twitter.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?