Dragons’ Ortloff Punches Ticket to National Tournament

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. — Minnesota State University Moorhead sophomore Braydon Ortloff is headed to the NCAA Division II Wrestling National Championships. Ortloff finished third at 165 pounds at the Super Region V on Saturday to earn his first trip to nationals.

Ortloff (12-9) finished 3-1 on the day at 165. He had an opening round bye, and then lost to St. Cloud State’s Devin Fitzpatrick in the quarterfinals by an 8-4 decision. He stormed back through the wrestle backs, however, pinning Minot State’s Nathan Baca in 2:53 and following with a pin of Upper Iowa’s Brock Benitz in 4:43 to reach the third place match. In the third place match, Ortloff used a late takedown to take a 9-7 win to clinch his trip to nationals.

Senior Zach Scott was one of the six Dragons to place. Scott took fourth at 149. He opened the day with a 2-1 win over Augustana’s Jebben Keyes, 2-1 and then pinned Northern’s Caden Moore in 6:40 to reach the semifinals. He lost to top seed James Pleski of St. Cloud State 8-2 in the semis but came back to beat Wisconsin-Parkside’s Nathan Hensley by fall in 6:38 to reach the third-place match. Scott lost to Upper Iowa’s Chase Luensman in the third place match 15-10 to finish the year at 22-14.

Junior Jordan Magnuson (13-7) finished fifth at 285. He opened a bye and then followed with a 3-2 win over Mary’s Dominic Tudor but suffered a 3-2 loss to eventual champion Triston Westerlund of Upper Iowa in the semis. Magnuson then lost to Minnesota State, Mankato’s David Griffet, 13-5 in the wrestle backs. Magnuson pinned Tudor in 5:58 to earn fifth.

Junior Steve Abbott (184) and sophomore Mason Schulz (141) each went 2-3 in their respective classes and placed sixth. Junior Evan Foster was 1-3 at 174 and took sixth.

NCAA Division II Northern Regional Qualifier Results

Ortloff will compete at the NCAA Division II Championships on March 13-14 at the Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls, S.D.

MSUM Wrestlers/Super Region 5 meet:

125-Cameron Williams (0-2)
—lost by tech fall to Dean Arevalo (Minot), 21-3
—pinned by Jared Hensley (Upper Iowa), 3:48, eliminated

141-Mason Schulz (2-3), 6th place
—pinned Louie Sanders (Mankato), 4:47
—pinned Tate Murty (Upper Iowa), 4:48
—lost to Hunter Burnett (Augie), 9-7
—lost to Louie Sanders (Mankato), 16-4
5th place match: pinned by Tate Murty (Upper Iowa), 3:33

149-Zach Scott (3-2), 4th place
—dec. Jebben Keyes (Augie), 2-1
—pinned Caden Moore (Northern), 6:40
—lost to James Pleski (SCSU), 8-2
—pinned Nathan Hensley (Upper Iowa), 6:38
3rd place match: lost to Chase Luensman (Upper Iowa) 15-10

157-Justin Dravis (0-2)
—lost by major dec. to Cooper Niebrecht (Mankato), 8-0
—lost to Mac Spotts (Upper Iowa), 8-3, eliminated

165-Braydon Ortloff (3-1), 3rd place
—opening round bye
—lost to Devin Fitzpatrick (SCSU), 8-4
—pinned Nathan Baca (Minot), 2:53.
—pinned Brock Benitz (Upper Iowa), 4:43
3rd place match: dec. Bailey Neises (Augie), 9-7

174-Evan Foster (1-3), 6th place
—lost to Zach Johnston (Mankato), 10-2
—dec. Tanner Wiese (Northern), 2-1
—lost to Myron Crawford (Upper Iowa), 8-5
5th place match: lost to Zach Johnston (Mankato), 7-3

184-Steve Abbott (2-3), 6th place
—lost to Cole Hennen (SMSU), 14-7
—dec. Marcus Placide (Northern), 702
—pinned Dustin Swisher (Minot), 3:22
5th place match: —lost to Kolby Lost (Augie), tech fall 19-3

197-Logan Rhode (1-2)
—lost to Diego Gallagos (Northern), 5-1
—dec. Noe Garcia (Minot), 10-6
—lost by technical fall to Daniel Bishop (Augie), 15-0, eliminated

285-Jordan Magnuson (2-2), 5th place
Opening round bye
—dec. Dominic Tudor (Mary), 3-2
—lost to Triston Westerlund (Upper Iowa), 3-2
—lost to David Griffet (Mankato), 13-5
5th place match: pinned Dominic Tudor (Mary), 5:58

Check out Dragon Wrestling at msumdragons.com and on Twitter and Facebook.

View More College News