Iowa State 22, North Dakota State 16

No. 19 Iowa State Pulls Away for 22-16 Win over NDSU

AMES, Iowa – No. 19-ranked Iowa State won four of the final five bouts including a fall to defeat North Dakota State 22-16 in a Big 12 Conference dual on Sunday, Feb. 23, in Hilton Coliseum.

NDSU had its seven-match winning streak snapped and finishes the dual season with a 10-4 record overall including 6-2 in the Big 12. The Bison compete at the Big 12 Conference Wrestling Championships on March 7-8 at the BOK Center in Tulsa.

North Dakota State won three of the first five bouts including an 11-2 major decision from No. 13-ranked 157 Jared Franek (24-6 overall, 12-2 duals), while No. 8 165-pounder Andrew Fogarty (19-3, 12-1) posted an 8-1 decision. Iowa State answered with a decision and a major to tie the team score at 7-all.

Cordell Eaton, a redshirt senior from Long Grove, Iowa, recorded a takedown with 33-seconds left in the third period for a 3-2 decision to put the Bison ahead 10-7. Eaton improved to 11-10 overall and 5-8 in duals.

Iowa State (10-5, 7-1 #Big12WR) then reeled off wins at 285 pounds with No. 14 Gannon Gremmel’s 4-0 decision over No. 28 Brandon Metz. The Cyclones’ No. 14 125 Alex Mackall defeated McGwire Midkiff 6-3 to go ahead 13-10.

NDSU No. 17-ranked Cam Sykora won by injury default at 1:28 over No. 18 Todd Small. Sykora upped his record to 14-4 overall including 10-3 in duals.

Iowa State took the lead for good when No. 9-ranked 141 Ian Park recorded the fall at 6:18 over Sawyer Degen, while No. 9 149 Jarrett Degen held the top position for the entire third period for the riding time point in a 4-3 nail-biter over Jaden Van Maanen.

Hilton Coliseum, Ames, Iowa

#19 Iowa State 22, North Dakota State 16
157— #13 Jared Franek (NDSU) major dec Isaac Judge (ISU), MD 11-2
165— #8 Andrew Fogarty (NDSU) dec #29 Chase Straw (ISU), 8-1
174— #16 Sam Colbray (ISU) dec Luke Weber (NDSU), 7-3
184— #31 Marcus Coleman (ISU) major dec TJ Pottinger (NDSU), MD 15-4
197— Cordell Eaton (NDSU) dec Joel Shapiro (ISU), 3-2
285— #14 Gannon Gremmel (ISU) dec #28 Brandon Metz (NDSU), 4-0
125— #14 Alex Mackall (ISU) dec McGwire Midkiff (NDSU), 6-3
133— #17 Cam Sykora (NDSU) injury default #18 Todd Small (ISU), Inj. 1:28
141— #9 Ian Parker (ISU) fall Sawyer Degen (NDSU), 6:18
149— #9 Jarrett Degen (ISU) dec Jaden Van Maanen (NDSU), 4-3
Dual started at 157 pounds
# Trackwrestling rankings

Check out Bison Wrestling at and on Twitter.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?