Nebraska 29 Minnesota 12

Gophers Drop Regular Season Finale To Cornhuskers

MINNEAPOLIS – The University of Minnesota program fell 29-12 to the Nebraska Cornhuskers on Friday night as the team closed out the regular season in front of over 2,600 fans.

The Gophers three individual victories came from Brayton Lee, Devin Skatzka, and Gable Steveson. Lee and Steveson’s victories were both bonus point victories while Skatzka earned the decision.

In the second match of the night and their seventh career meeting, Skatzka got the best of Mikey Labriola with an incredible third period that fired up the Pavilion crowd. Starting in top position, Skatzka rode Labriola the entire two minutes plus he earned a four-point nearfall to turn a 2-2 tie into a 7-2 victory.

As the senior got to his fight he screamed in delight to send the Gopher fans to their feet.

Gable Steveson sent the Gophers into the intermission in emphatic fashion with a 19-7 major decision that featured eight takedowns by Steveson. The victory, Steveson’s 12th of the year, gives him ten total bonus-point victories this year.

Steveson now finishes his first two seasons 29-0 in dual competition and 47-2 overall.

Brayton Lee got the victory for the Gophers in the penultimate match of the evening with a 23-8 technical fall. The redshirt freshman put on an offensive showcase with nine takedowns and a reversal including five in the final stanza.

“The sun still comes up tomorrow and we’ve got two weeks until Big Tens. After that we’ve got NCAA’s and we’ve just got to focus on what lies ahead of us.” – Coach Brandon Eggum

Next Up
Minnesota is set to travel to New Jersey in two weeks as Rutgers hosts the Big Ten Championships at the Rutgers Athletic Center from March 7-8.

The Gophers will then close out the season right across the river at US Bank Stadium with the NCAA Championships lasting from March 19-21.

Nebraska 29 Minnesota 12
165: #5 Isaiah White (Nebraska) dec. Bailee O’Reilly (Minnesota) 4-2
174: #8 Devin Skatzka (Minnesota) dec. #6 Mikey Labriola (Nebraska) 7-2
184: #11 Taylor Venz (Nebraska) dec. #21 Owen Webster (Minnesota) 5-2
197: #8 Eric Schultz (Nebraska) maj. dec. Garrett Joles (Minnesota) 17-5
Hwt: #1 Gable Steveson (Minnesota) maj. dec. Christian Lance (Nebraska) 19-7
125: Alex Thomsen (Nebraska) maj. dec. Jake Gliva (Minnesota) 9-1
133: #11 Ridge Lovett (Nebraska) wins by forfeit
141: #6 Chad Red (Nebraska) fall #5 Mitch McKee (Minnesota) 3:53
149: #7 Brayton Lee (Minnesota) tech fall Christian Miller (Nebraska) 23-8 (7:00)
157: Caleb Licking (Nebraska) dec. #24 Ryan Thomas (Minnesota) 6-0

Golden Gopher Wrestling Tickets

Check out Gopher Wrestling at and on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

View More College News