St. Cloud State wrestling claims nine All-NSIC awards for 2019-20

The 2019-20 NSIC Wrestling All-Conference teams were announced as the regular season concluded last week. The All-Conference teams were selected by the league coaches with the top point receivers at each weight class being named first team and the second being named to the second team. The NSIC Wrestler of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year will be selected by the league coaches and announced following the NCAA Championships.

St. Cloud State, which won its ninth straight NSIC Regular Season Championship, led the way with nine All-NSIC members, including seven first-team members. Upper Iowa had three wrestlers honored, with two first-team members, while Augustana and Minot State each had two wrestlers named all-conference (Minot with the final first-team member). UMary, Minnesota State, Northern State, and Southwest Minnesota State each had one wrestler named to the second team.

SCSU wrestlers named to the All-NSIC First Team for 2019-20 include Garrett Vos at 133-pounds, Joey Bianchini at 141-pounds, James Pleski at 149-pounds, Jake Barzowski at 157-pounds, Devin FitzPatrick at 165-pounds, Kolton Eischens at 174-pounds and Tyree Overton at 184-pounds.

SCSU grapplers selected to the All-NSIC Second Team were Noah Ryan at 197-pounds and Ezayah Oropeza at 285-pounds.

This marked the fourth consecutive season that Pleski has earned All-NSIC honors for the Huskies. He gained All-NSIC Second Team honors in 2016-17 and has been named to the All-NSIC First Team in 2017-18, 2018-19 and 2019-20. Eischens notched his third All-NSIC award, which includes a spot on the All-NSIC Second Team in 2017-18 and first-team accolades in 2018-19 and 2019-20. SCSU’s Barzowski and FitzPatrick gained All-NSIC Second Team honors in 2018-19.

2019-20 NSIC Wrestling All-Conference Teams

SCSU is the nation’s number one ranked team in the latest NWCA DII National Poll and the Huskies will enter the NCAA regional with a 16-0, 8-0 NSIC record.

Next up for NSIC Wrestling will be the NCAA Super Region V tournament, which will take place this Saturday, Feb. 29 in Sioux Falls, South Dakota at the Sioux Falls Arena, hosted by Augustana University. Super Region V is made up of the nine NSIC wrestling institutions and the University of Wisconsin-Parkside. The top three finishers in each weight class will advance to the NCAA Championships on March 13-14 at the Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

Check out Huskies Wrestling at and on Twitter and Facebook.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?