Vikings’ Kelvington and Burnett Garner All-Conference Honors

BURNSVILLE, Minn. — Senior Ben Kelvington and redshirt freshman Hunter Burnett have been named to the NSIC All-Conference Second Team the league office announced Tuesday afternoon. Both wrestlers are currently nationally-ranked No. 9 in their respective weight classes.

Ben Kelvington
Kelvington, a native of Jordan, Minnesota, has been dominant on the mat at 174 pounds this season. His record is currently 12-4 with five tech falls and two major decisions. Kelvington started the season winning the Jimmie Open in Jamestown, North Dakota, with a perfect 4-0 record. The senior proceeded to win his next seven bouts against Division II opponents giving him 11-straight wins in Division II matches.

Recently, Kelvington took down the No. 10 wrestler in the country in a 6-5 decision in the Vikings victory over then-No. 17 Minnesota State. Kelvington finished the season with an overall dual record of 8-4 and an 8-2 mark against Division II opponents.

Hunter Burnett
Burnett, a native of Pipestone, Minnesota, leads the Vikings in wins with a 25-8 record on the season at 141 pounds with six falls, seven major decisions and seven tech falls. Burnett took home first-place honors in the Dakota Wesleyan Open in Mitchell, South Dakota, earlier this season with a perfect 4-0 record featuring three falls and a tech fall.

In duals, Burnett has been nearly untouchable with a 9-2 record that included nine victories in a row from Dec. 20 to Feb. 14. During the win streak, Burnett took down the No. 1 wrestler in the country in a 9-4 decision in Augustana’s win over then-No. 2 Nebraska-Kearney and the No. 9 wrestler in the country with another 9-4 decision in Augustana’s win over then-No. 17 Minnesota State.

2019-20 NSIC Wrestling All-Conference Teams

The two wrestlers are back in action this Saturday at the NCAA Super Region 5 Tournament, hosted by Augustana at the Sioux Falls Arena. Wrestling is set to begin at 10 a.m.

About the Selections
The all-conference teams were selected by the league coaches with the top point receivers at each weight class being named first team and the second being named to the second team. The NSIC Wrestler of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year will be selected by the league coaches and announced following the NCAA Championships.
Check out Vikings Wrestling at and on Twitter and Facebook.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?