Jackrabbits post strong opening session

TULSA, Okla. – South Dakota State is in third place in the team standings and four Jackrabbit wrestlers advanced to Saturday night’s semifinals during the opening session of the Big 12 Wrestling Championship at BOK Center.

Second-seeded Henry Pohlmeyer (149 pounds) and Tanner Sloan (197 pounds) both cruised into the semis with a pair of victories. Pohlmeyer notched a third-period pin against West Virginia’s Seth Hogue in the opening round, then posted a 4-1 decision over North Dakota State’s Jaden Van Maanen.

A two-time NCAA qualifier, Pohlmeyer will meet third-seeded Max Thomsen of Northern Iowa in the semis.

Sloan allowed only one point in recording two major decisions during the first session, blanking Iowa State’s Joel Shapiro, 9-0, before turning in an 11-1 victory over seventh-seeded Jacob Seely.

Sloan will face third-seeded Jake Woodley of Oklahoma in Saturday night’s semifinals. The two wrestlers have split their first two meetings this season.

Also advancing to the semifinals were Tanner Cook (165 pounds) and Zach Carlson (184 pounds), both of whom received first-round byes.

Cook, seeded fourth, avenged a loss to fifth-seeded Cole Moody of Wyoming during the regular season, outlasting Moody by a 12-10 decision. Cook will wrestle top-seeded Travis Wittlake of Oklahoma State in semifinal action.

The third-seeded Carlson posted an 8-2 decision against No. 6 Darrien Roberts of Oklahoma in his lone match of the opening session. Carlson will square off against seventh-seeded Tate Samuelson in the semis after the Wyoming wrestler knocked off second-seeded Anthony Montalvo of Oklahoma State in quarterfinal action.

The Jackrabbits put together an impressive opening round as six of their seven wrestlers who did not receive a first-round bye were victorious. At 133 pounds, unseeded Zach Price pulled off an early upset, downing fifth-seeded Todd Small of Iowa State in the closing seconds. Price trailed Small, 9-5, with about 20 seconds remaining before recording a takedown and ensuing four-point near-fall.

Price later dropped an 8-3 decision to fourth-seeded Anthony Madrigal of Oklahoma to fall into the consolation bracket.

Also winning first-round matches before losing in the quarterfinals were Danny Vega (125 pounds), Peyton Smith (157 pounds) and Blake Wolters (285).

Losing their first matches of the day and scheduled to compete in the wrestlebacks Saturday night were 141-pounder Clay Carlson and 174-pounder Cade King.

Iowa State leads the team standings with 64 points, followed by Oklahoma State at 61. The Jackrabbits are currently third with 42 points, one ahead of Oklahoma.

Saturday’s second session begins at 5 p.m.

Big 12 Championships
Mar 7-8 Sat-Sun – Tulsa, Okla.

125 – No. 6 Danny Vega, Jr., Tucson, Arizona
* def. Jacob Svihel (Wyoming) by major dec., 8-0
* lost to No. 3 Alex Mackall (Iowa State) by dec., 13-6

133 – Zach Price, R-Fr. Johnston, Iowa
* def. No. 5 Todd Small (Iowa State) by dec., 11-9
* lost to No. 4 Anthony Madrigal (Oklahoma) by dec., 8-3

141 – No. 7 Clay Carlson, R-Fr., Willmar, Minn.
* received opening-round bye
* lost to No. 2 Ian Parker (Iowa State) by dec., 8-4

149 – No. 2 Henry Pohlmeyer, Sr., Johnston, Iowa
* def. Seth Hogue (West Virginia), by fall 6:09
* def. Jaden VanMaanen (North Dakota State) by dec.,

157 – No. 7 Peyton Smith, So., Kansas City, Mo.
* def. Jimmy Fate (Northern Colorado) by dec., 6-2
* lost to No. 2 Jared Franek (North Dakota State) by major dec., 9-0

165 – No. 4 Tanner Cook, Fr., Ilion, N.Y.
* received opening-round bye
*def. No. 5 Cole Moody (Wyoming) by dec., 12-10

174 – Cade King, Fr., Owatonna, Minn.
* lost to No. 2 Anthony Mantanona (Oklahoma) by dec., 10-7

184 – No. 3 Zach Carlson, Sr., Murdock, Minn.
* received opening-round bye
* def. No. 6 Darrien Roberts (Oklahoma) by dec., 8-2

197 – No. 2 Tanner Sloan, R-Fr., Alburnett, Iowa
* def. Joel Shapiro (Iowa State) by major dec., 9-0
* def. No. 7 Jacob Seely (Northern Colorado) by major dec., 11-1

285 – Blake Wolters, Jr., Pipestone, Minn.
* def. No. 8 Kayne Hutchison (Air Force) by major dec., 8-0
* lost to No. 1 Tate Orndorff (Utah Valley), by major dec., 11-3

TEAM STANDINGS (after one session)
1. Iowa State – 64
2. Oklahoma State – 61
3. South Dakota State – 42
4. Oklahoma – 41
5. Northern Iowa – 38
6. Wyoming – 37
7. North Dakota State – 36.5
8. Northern Colorado – 24
9. Utah Valley – 15
10. West Virginia – 13
11. Air Force – 9
12. Fresno State – 7.5

Check out Jackrabbit Wrestling at gojacks.com and on Twitter | Facebook | Instagram.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?