Minnesota’s No. 1 Goes Down Tomorrow

The inaugural “Minnesota’s #1” event will take place on Saturday, August 29th, at 4:00 pm. The competition will be streamed live from Minnetonka and is available to watch on pay-per-view on Trackwrestling.

The line-up includes 17 matches of 34 current high school wrestlers who have won a combined total of 26 MSHSL state championships and 59 state medals.

Six of the wrestlers are committed DI recruits – Dominik Vacura (North Dakota State); Derrick Cardinal, Cael Swensen, and Roman Rogotzke (South Dakota State); and Gabe Nagel and Bennett Tabor (University of Minnesota).

22 of The Guillotine’s top Pound-For-Pound high school wrestlers in Minnesota are included on the card:

Class of 2021
2 Derrick Cardinal, Forest Lake
5 Bennett Tabor, Simley
6 Jaxson Rohman, Fairmont/Martin County West
7 Quayin Short, Simley
8 Cael Swensen, Wayzata
10 Gabe Nagel, Little Falls
11 Dominik Vacura, Badger/Greenbush-Middle River
12 Tyson Meyer, Minnewaska Area
13 Blake West, Shakopee
15 Roman Rogotzke, Stillwater Area

Class of 2022
2 Hunter Lyden, Stillwater Area
3 Maxwell Petersen, Byron
4 Chase DeBlaere, Simley
5 Jore Volk, Lakeville North
6 Christian Noble, Big Lake
7 Drayden Morton, Sibley East
8 Landen Johnson, Owatonna
11 Payton Handevidt, Jackson County Central
12 Walker Bents, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa
14 Jude Link, Dassel-Cokato/Litchfield

Class of 2023
3 Max McEnelly, Waconia
5 Tyler Wells, Princeton

Al Venz and Josh Raymond from The Al and Josh Show podcast will be broadcasting live from the event with special guest Jason Bryant.

Check out The Open Mat’s PREVIEW ARTICLE HERE

Watch on Trackwrestling.com – $14.95 – Pre-show starts around 3:35 pm.

Order of competition:

  1. Parker Lyden of Forest Lake vs. Brandon Morvari of Simley
  2. Two-time state champion Tyson Meyer of Minnewaska Area vs. state champion/three-time placer Hunter Lyden of Stillwater Area
  3. State champion Roman Rogotzke of Stillwater Area vs. state champion/two-time finalist Gabe Nagel of Little Falls
  4. State champion/two-time placer Payton Handevidt of Jackson County Central vs. state champion/three-time placer Cael Swensen of Wayzata
  5. State champion Tyler Wells of Princeton vs. state champion/two-time placer Blake West of Shakopee
  6. Two-time state champion/four-time placer Dominik Vacura of Badger/Greenbush-Middle River vs. state champion/two-time placer Bennett Tabor of Simley
  7. State champion/two-time finalist Derek Steele of Sibley East vs. state champion/two-time placer Walker Bents of Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa
  8. Logan Swensen of Wayzata vs. Alan Koehler of Prior Lake
  9. Ngao Shoua Whitehorn of Dover-Eyota vs. Skylar Little Soldier of Hastings
  10. Nina Makem of Shakopee vs. Ella Pagel of Northfield
  11. State champion/three-time finalist Maxwell Petersen of Byron vs. three-time placer Austin Gabbert of Watertown-Mayer/Mayer Lutheran
  12. Two-time state champion Drayden Morton of Sibley East vs. state champion/three-time finalist/five-time placer Jaxson Rohman of Fairmont/Martin County West
  13. State champion/two-time finalist Jore Volk of Lakeville North vs. state champion/two-time placer Christian Noble of Big Lake
  14. State finalist Jude Link of Dassel-Cokato/Litchfield vs. state finalist/two-time placer Landen Johnson of Owatonna
  15. State finalist Gavin Layton of Coon Rapids vs. two-time placer Tommy Johnson of Shakopee
  16. Two-time state champion Chase DeBlaere of Simley vs. three-time state champion/four-time placer Derrick Cardinal of Forest Lake
  17. State champion Max McEnelly of Waconia vs. two-time state finalist/three-time placer Quayin Short of Simley

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?