Minnesota State 25, Augustana 13

Mankato, Minn. — 12th-rated Minnesota State won seven of ten matches enroute to a 25-13 victory in Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference wrestling action in Mankato.

Rated tenth in the nation at 125, senior Trenton McManus upped his record on the year to 2-0 to start the match with a 14-6 major decision win over John Babineau to get things rolling.

Minnesota State junior Kolbe O’Brien decisioned Jack Huffman at 141 by a 7-3 margin before two-time All-American Kyle Rathman earned a 7-5 win over tenth-rated Hunter Burnett at 149 to give the Mavericks a 10-3 lead.

Junior Cooper Siebrecht rolled to a 13-3 victory over Tyler Wagener in the 157 matchup to make it 13-3 lead.

Third-rated Trevor Turriff decisioned Cade Mueller 5-3 at 174 and Dylan Butts claimed a 4-0 victory over Jackson Sweeney at 184.

A win by fall a 1:45 by senior Matt Blome in the 197 match clinched the match for the Mavericks.

The win gives the Mavericks a 2-0 overall record on the year and a 2-0 NSIC mark. Next action for Minnesota State is Jan. 21 with a road league dual at Upper Iowa.

The Vikings are back in action next Thursday at 7 p.m. when they will host the No. 1-ranked and defending national champion St. Cloud State Huskies.

#12 Minnesota State 25, Augustana 13
125: #10 Trenton McManus (MSU) wins a 14-6 major decision vs. John Babineau (AU)
133: Brandon Carroll (AU) wins 7-3 decision vs. Brock Luthens (MSU)
141: Kolbe O’Brien (MSU) wins via a 7-3 decision vs. Jack Huffman (AU)
149: #2 Kyle Rathman (MSU) wins via a 7-5 decision vs. #10 Hunter Burnett (AU)
157: Cooper Siebrecht (MSU) wins via a 3-2 decision vs. Tyler Wagener (AU)
165: Dylan Schuck (AU) wins via a 14-5 major decision vs. Michael Smith (MSU)
174: #3 Trevor Turriff (MSU) wins a 5-3 decision vs. Cade Mueller (AU)
184: Dylan Butts (MSU) wins via a 4-0 decision vs. Jackson Sweeney (AU)
197: Matthew Blome (MSU) wins via fall at 1:45 vs. #12 Daniel Bishop (AU)
285: #11 Steven Hajas (AU) wins via fall at 2:45 vs. David Griffet (MSU)

Extra Match Results
165: Brody Nielsen (MSU) wins via an 8-3 decision vs. Miles Fitzgerald (AU)
174: Brengle (AU) wins an 8-1 decision vs. Bridger Kraye (MSU)
184: Danny Reynolds (AU) wins fall at 3:38 vs. Shane Gibson (MSU)
285: #11 Edward Hajas (AU) wins via a 5-3 decision vs. Max Villnow (MSU)

Check out Mavericks Wrestling at msumavericks.com and on Twitter.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?