Jones Headed Back to Nationals After Runner-Up Finish at Super Region V Meet

ABERDEEN, S.D. — Minnesota State University Moorhead junior wrestler Cole Jones is headed back to the national tournament. Jones finished second at 125 pounds at the Super Region V tournament on Saturday in Aberdeen, S.D.

The top two finishers in each weight class qualified for nationals.

Jones, who missed 2019-20 recovering from an injury, was All-American at 125 in 2018-19. This will be his second trip to nationals.

He opened the day with a hard-fought 3-2 win over Minot State’s Oscar Nellis, and then rolled past top seeded Joe Arroyo of Wisconsin-Parkside 19-9 in the semifinals.

In the championship match at 125, Jones fell to Trenton McManus 5-1. There was no true second match as Jones had beaten Arroyo, who finished third, earlier in the day.

Freshman Gage Roaldson had a good day at 174 for MSUM. He lost a tough 5-4 decision to Augustana’s Cade Mueller in the opening round but are back with a 13-2 win over SMSU’s Hayden Voxland in the wrestlebacks. Roaldson added a pin of Upper Iowa’s Myron Crawford in 4:50 before falling to St. Cloud State’s Devin Donovan 9-1 in the consolation bracket. Roaldson finished the year 6-3.

Junior Braydon Ortloff, a national qualifier in 2019-20, had a tough draw at 165. He opened with a pin of Minot’s Austin Frantzich in 2:51 but lost to Northern State’s James Burks 12-3. He was eliminated by Scott Kellenberger of Upper Iowa 4-2 in the wrestlebacks. Ortloff finished the season at 4-3.

Mason Schulz (141), Angel Rios (149) and senior Tell Ward (157) each went 1-2 on the day. Schulz had a pin in the wrestlebacks.

2021 NCAA Division II Super Region 5 Qualifier Results

MSUM Results
Note: byes will not count towards daily record

125-Cole Jones (2-1), 2nd place
First round bye
—dec. Oscar Nellis (Minot), 3-2
—maj. dec. Joe Arroyo (UW-Parkside), 19-9
—lost to Trenton McManus (Mankato), 5-1

133-Declan Malone (0-2)
First round bye
—lost to Garrett Vos (SCSU), 10-1
—lost to Brock Luthens (Mankato), 9-5, eliminated

141-Mason Schulz (1-2)
—pinned by Tate Murty (Upper Iowa), 6:19
—pinned Francesco Schiro (UWP), 5:52
—lost to Justin Sampson (SMSU), 14-7, eliminated

149-Angel Rios (1-2)
First round bye
—lost by tech. Fall to Kyle Rathman (Mankato), 16-0
—maj. dec. Marco Ramirezlazos (Minot), 14-2
—pinned by Luke Peterson (SMSU), 1:20

157-Tell Ward (1-2)
First round bye
—lost to Caden Moore (Northern), 4-0
—dec. Sean Howk (SMSU), 10-3
—lost to Cooper Siebrecht (Mankato), 9-2, eliminated

165-Braydon Ortloff (1-2)
—pinned Austin Frantzich (Minot), 2:51
—lost to James Burks (Northern), 12-3
—lost to Scott Kellenberger (Upper Iowa), 4-2, eliminated

174-Gage Roaldson (2-2)
First round bye
—lost to Cade Mueller (Augie), 5-4
—maj. dec. Hayden Voxland (SMSU), 13-2
—pinned Myron Crawford (Upper Iowa), 4:50
—lost to Devin Donovan (SCSU), 9-1, eliminated

184-Evan Foster (0-2)
First round bye
—lost to Reece Woracheck (Upper Iowa), 8-2
—lost to Kolby Kost (Augie), 14-0, eliminated

197-Steven Abbott (0-2)
First round bye
—lost to Noah Ryan (SCSU), 11-5
—lost by tech fall to Job Ayala (UWP), 17-2, eliminated

285-Andre Baguma (0-2)
—pinned by Kameron Teacher (SCSU), 2:43
—lost to David Griffet (Mankato), 3-1, eliminated

Check out Dragon Wrestling at and on Twitter and Facebook.

View More College News