NWCA Division III Poll – February 26

Manheim, PA – Significant shuffling took place in the latest NWCA Division III Coaches Rankings released on Friday as only teams and athletes that had taken to the mat this season were included. Coming in atop the new team rankings is perennial DIII power Wartburg with eight ranked individuals. Wisconsin-La Crosse, the US Coast Guard Academy, Mount Union, Baldwin Wallace, and John Carroll round out the rest of the top-five.

Many of the teams and athletes included in this set of rankings will find themselves finishing this season not at the NCAA Championships, as they were canceled earlier this month, but instead at the NWCA Division III Coaches Association National Championships presented by ARMS Software, FloWrestling, and Reese’s. While there will be no team scoring or awards, each athlete entered will be competing for NWCA All-American status with a top-eight finish. A full listing of competing teams will be available at a later date.

The NCAA Division III Coaches Rankings are voted on and compiled by two coaches from each of the six Regions.


1Wartburg College60
2Wisconsin-La Crosse54
3Coast Guard Academy41
4University of Mount Union40
T5Baldwin Wallace University38
T5John Carroll University38
7Millikin University35
8Coe College34
T9Augsburg University28
T9Stevens Institute of Technology28
11Loras College26
12North Central21
13Messiah University20
T15Averett University18
T15The College of New Jersey18
T18Wisconsin-Stevens Point16
T18Waynesburg University16
T20University of Dubuque15
T20Heidelberg Univeristy15
22Wisconsin-Eau Claire13
23Southern Virginia University12
24Castleton University11
25Otterbein College10


Tournament Poll Methodology: Program will receive points based on how many individuals they have ranked and where they are ranked. The point system will follow the same scoring as the NCAA Championships with no bonus points: Eight Places: (1st – 16), (2nd – 12), (3rd – 10), (4th – 9), (5th – 7), (6th – 6), (7th – 4), (8th – 3). If a program has a wrestler ranked 9th they will receive 2 points, if a program has a wrestler ranked 10th they will receive 1 point.

2020-21 NWCA Committee Representatives: Northeast – Mike Sugermeyer (WNE) & Corey Luce (NYU), Mideast – Justin Signorelli (Alfred State) & Jason Mclean (Muhlenberg), Southeast – Jon Laudenslager (Wilkes) & Anthony Bonaventura (Stevens), Central – Bill Schindel (Adrian) & Josh Malave (Mount Union), Lower Midwest – Jon McGovern (Dubuque) & Brandon Bradley (Nebraska Wesleyan), Upper Midwest – Tony Valek (Augsburg) & Dave Malecek (UW-La Crosse)

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?