Southwest Minnesota State 17, Minot State 20

SMSU falls short against Minot State in a close 20-17 defeat

MINOT N.D.- Southwest Minnesota State (1-4, 1-4 NSIC) battled against Minot State (1-5, 1-4 NSIC) in its final NSIC dual for the 2020-21 regular season. Minot State secured the victory by earning a fall at 285 to put the Beavers ahead 20-17 in the final match of the night.

The dual started at 125 with Ben Emrich losing a 10-1 major decision against Oscar Nellis. SMSU would answer right back a major decision of its own at 133 with Jackson Stauffacher winning 24-11, tying the team score at four.

At 141, MSU’s Lincoln Stormer would earn a 12-7 decision over Justin Sampson, Luke Peterson, however, would earn a clutch 16-4 major decision at 149 for SMSU giving them the lead 8-7.

SMSU would lose the next two bouts with Sean Howk suffering an 8-0 major decision and Carter Marx losing an 11-5 decision, giving the Beavers a 14-8 lead.

SMSU would go onto win the next three bouts starting off with Hayden Voxland at 174 and Caden Steffen at 184 both earning a 7-4 decision, tying up the team score at 14.

At 197 No. 5 Jackson Ryan would secure a 3-1 decision earning his fifth victory on the season, along with going undefeated for the 2020-21 regular season. With Ryan’s Victory SMSU would take the lead going into the final bout of the night 17-14.

SMSU’s Jacob Dykes came into tonight’s match only having one defeat on his record going up against MSU’s No.10 Jordan Will. Dykes would only allow for a takedown to occur in the first period; however, he would fall at the 3:24 mark giving MSU the victory.

The Mustangs will look ahead to the Super Regional V tournament on Feb. 27, in Aberdeen S.D. starting at 10 a.m. in the Wachs Arena.

Southwest Minnesota State 17, Minot State 20
125| Oscar Nellis (MSU) wins by major decision (10-1) over Ben Emrich (SMSU) MSU-4 SMSU-0
133| Jackson Stauffacher (SMSU) wins by major decision (24-11) over Logen Fischer (MSU) MSU-4 SMSU-4
141| Lincoln Stormer (MSU) wins by decision (12-7) over Justin Sampson (SMSU) MSU-7 SMSU-4
149| Luke Peterson (SMSU) wins by major decision (16-4) over Gabriel Ojeda (MSU) MSU-7 SMSU-8
157| Nathan Baca (MSU) wins by major decision (8-0) over Sean Howk (SMSU) MSU-11 SMSU-8
165| Alex Sandoval (MSU) wins by decision (11-5) over Carter Marx (SMSU) MSU-14 SMSU-8
174| Hayden Voxland (SMSU) wins by decision (7-4) over Noah Gallardo (MSU) MSU-14 SMSU-11
184| Caden Steffen (SMSU) wins by decision (7-4) over Keegan Berry (MSU) MSU-14 SMSU-14
197| Jackson Ryan (SMSU) wins by decision (3-1) over Noe Garcia (MSU) MSU-14 SMSU-17
285| Jordan Will (MSU) wins by fall at 3:24 over Jacob Dykes (SMSU) MSU-20 SMSU-17

174| Jace Paplow (SMSU) wins by tech fall (15-0) at 5:41 over Joseph Lopez (MSU)
184| Joseph Lopez (MSU) wins by decision (17-13) over Tallin Johnson (SMSU)
197| Je-Mario (MSU) wins by sudden victory (12-10) over Dillon McEachran (SMSU)
285| Jake Swirple (MSU) wins by fall at 1:56 over Neil Hanson (SMSU)
149| Marco Ramirezlazos (MSU) wins by decision (3-2) over Lucas Hodges (SMSU)
157| Nathan Moore (SMSU) wins by fall at 4:39 over Brendan Barnes (MSU)
165| Austin Frantzich (MSU) wins by decision (7-0) over Nye Becker (SMSU)
165| Elijah Sterner (SMSU) wins by decision (9-4) over Isaac Bertalotto (MSU)

Check out Mustangs Wrestling at and on Twitter.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?