Four inducted into the 2021 Bartelma Minnesota Wrestling Hall of Fame

Four new members were inducted into the Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association (MWCA) Dave Bartelma Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 1st, 2021 in Benson, Minn.

The new inductees honored were Jeff Becker, Troy Haglund, Bob Mueller, and Chris Steele.

2021 MWCA Coach of the Year honorees were Class A – Bill Wagner of Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie, Class AA – Brian Hellman of Princeton, and Class AAA – Todd Springer of Anoka.

The MWCA selected David Joseph of Kimball Area as 2021 State Head Coach of the Year. Selected as State Assistant Coach of the Year was Paul Vaith of Hastings. Joseph and Vaith, along with 2021 MWCA Mr. Minnesota Wrestler selection Derrick Cardinal of Forest Lake represent Minnesota as The National Wrestling Coaches Association’s State (NWCA) award winners, which qualifies them for further NWCA honors at the Regional and National levels.

Coaches recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award for coaching longevity were Roger Betters of Hibbing, Bob Boeck of St. Cloud Tech, Michael Holmes of Roseville, and Bruce Loosbrock of Adrian.

Note: There are two Bartelma Wrestling Hall of Fame Induction Dinners this year because of the pandemic. The first is in the Spring on May 1st and the second is in the Fall on October 30th.

Photos by Jeff Beshey

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?