NWCA NCAA DII Rankings – October 15, 2021

MANHEIM, Penn. — With the 2021-22 NCAA Division II wrestling season-opening competition in just two weeks, the preseason edition of the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) DII Coaches Poll was released Friday afternoon.

Reigning NCAA Division II National Champion St. Cloud State tops the team poll with 81 points, with last year’s national runners-up, Nebraska-Kearney, hot on the Huskies’ heels with 80 points. Lindenwood takes the third-place spot with 78 points, while Central Oklahoma (74 points) and West Liberty (69 points) round out the top five.

Gannon and Nebraska-Kearney both feature eight ranked wrestlers, while both West Liberty and Central Oklahoma each boast two top-ranked individuals.


The ranked individual field is an accomplished one, with 116 of the 120 ranked wrestlers coming into the season with at least one national qualification under their belt. There are 84 previous All-Americans among those ranked, including three four-time All-Americans. In total, 36 multi-time All-Americans dot the 10 weight classes heading into the 2021-22 season.

Seven of 2021’s National Champions return to defend their titles, with 11 total prior National Champions in those ranked. Tyler Warner at 133 comes in as the lone two-time defending National Champion, while both 184 and 285 each have two former National Champions in their ranks. Just one weight class, 141, does not have a former National Champion among its top 12 ranked wrestlers.

In looking at the nation’s six regions, Super Region 4 touts the highest number of ranked wrestlers with 23, with Super Region 5 not far behind with 22. Both Super Region 3 and Super Region 4 each feature three top-ranked wrestlers, while Super Regions 1, 3, and 5 each put five teams in the Top 25 team rankings.

The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) leads the way with 22 total ranked wrestlers and five Top 25 teams, while the Mountain East leads with three top-ranked individuals.

Nov. 1 is the first day of competition for the upcoming season, with the first regular-season edition of the coaches poll slated for Dec. 3.

1 St. Cloud State
2 Nebraska-Kearney
3 Lindenwood
4 Central Oklahoma
5 West Liberty
6 Mckendree
7 Ashland
8 Gannon
9 Upper Iowa
10 Minnesota State
11 Findlay
11 Kutztown
13 Indianapolis
14 Adams State
14 Lake Erie
14 Mercyhurst
17 UW-Parkside
18 Colorado Mines
19 Fairmont State
19 UNC-Pembroke
21 Pitt-Johnstown
22 Newberry
22 Augustana
24 Belmont Abbey
24 King
24 Tiffin

Receiving Votes: Colorado Mesa, Western Colorado, Newman, Southwest Minnesota State, Fort Hays State, American International, Mary, Lander, Drury, Northern State, Queens, Simon Fraser, Davis & Elkins, Limestone, Alderson Broaddus


  1. Cole Laya West Liberty
  2. Nick Daggett UNC-Pembroke
  3. Joe Arroyo UW-Parkside
  4. Christian Wellman Ashland
  5. Christian Mejia Mckendree
  6. Paxton Rosen Central Oklahoma
  7. Isaiah Delacerda Adams State
  8. Trenton Mcmanus Minnesota State
  9. Jacob Dunlap Gannon
  10. Josh Portillo Nebraska-Kearney
  11. Matt Siszka Pitt-Johnstown
  12. Zach Shupp Newberry


  1. Tyler Warner West Liberty
  2. Garrett Vos St. Cloud State
  3. Tanner Cole Central Oklahoma
  4. Patrick Allis Western Colorado
  5. Tanner Hitchock Lindenwood
  6. Collin Wickramaratna Kutztown
  7. Jonathan Andreatta Adams State
  8. Eric Bartos Mercyhurst
  9. Zane Johnson Lake Erie
  10. Mason Turner Fort Hays State
  11. Brandon Carroll Augustana
  12. Ben Fielding Belmont Abbey


  1. Joey Bianchini St. Cloud State
  2. Colby Smith Lindenwood
  3. Christian Small King
  4. Tate Murty Upper Iowa
  5. Nick James Nebraska-Kearney
  6. Branson Proudlock Findlay
  7. Devin Schwartzkopf Mckendree
  8. Austin Hertel Gannon
  9. Peter Kuster Drury
  10. Luke Wymer Ashland
  11. Alexis Soriano Mercyhurst
  12. Kolton Roth Northern State


  1. Lukas Martin Fairmont State
  2. Gavin Londoff Lindenwood
  3. Sam Turner Nebraska-Kearney
  4. Carson Speelman Ashland
  5. Noah Hermosillo Adams State
  6. Kyle Rathman Minnesota State
  7. Jacob Ealy Pitt-Johnstown
  8. Eric Faught Upper Iowa
  9. Sean O’Hearon Lake Erie
  10. Logan Bailey Indianapolis
  11. Gabe Johnson Central Oklahoma
  12. Dominic Means Gannon


  1. James Wimer Findlay
  2. Ronald Gentile Lindenwood
  3. Colby Njos St. Cloud State
  4. Dawson Combest Indianapolis
  5. Ty Lucas Central Oklahoma
  6. Jojo Gonzalez American Int.
  7. Nick Young Gannon
  8. Will Evans Newberry
  9. Chase Luensman Upper Iowa
  10. Braydon Huber Mary
  11. John Burger Limestone
  12. Carter Noehre Colorado Mines


  1. Alex Farenchak Gannon
  2. Cory Peterson Mckendree
  3. Matt Malcom Nebraska-Kearney
  4. Mitch Dean Belmont Abbey
  5. Shane Gantz UW-Parkside
  6. Kameron Frame Newman
  7. James Penfold Lake Erie
  8. Bryan Lavearn Tiffin
  9. Chase Morgan West Liberty
  10. Noah Tarr Davis & Elkins
  11. Caden Moore Northern State
  12. Jack Eiteljorge Indianapolis


  1. Abner Romero Lindenwood
  2. Trevor Turriff Minnesota State
  3. Daniel Beemer Ashland
  4. Josh Jones Mckendree
  5. Andrew Sams Indianapolis
  6. Brock Biddle Pitt-Johnstown
  7. Terrell Garraway Nebraska-Kearney
  8. Max Bruss Mary
  9. Caleb Spears Newberry
  10. Logan Nelson Simon Frasier
  11. Jack Bond Lander
  12. Ryan Fidel Colorado Mines


  1. Heath Gray Central Oklahoma
  2. Connor Craig West Liberty
  3. Dan Filipek Mckendree
  4. Austin Eldredge Nebraska-Kearney
  5. Caden Steffen SW Minnesota State
  6. Aidan Pasiuk Ashland
  7. Anderson Salisbury Colorado Mines
  8. Billy Pitzner St. Cloud State
  9. Zebrandon Gant Newberry
  10. Noah Curreri Queens
  11. Cam Page Gannon
  12. Gino Sita Alderson Broaddus


  1. Dalton Abney Central Oklahoma
  2. Zach Ryg Upper Iowa
  3. Joseph Reimers Nebraska-Kearney
  4. Donnie Negus Colorado Mesa
  5. Noah Ryan St. Cloud State
  6. Chris Droege Lake Erie
  7. Nick Mason Tiffin
  8. Luke Mcgonigal Mercyhurst
  9. Joel Liese Gannon
  10. Logan Kemp West Liberty
  11. Darius Parker Lander
  12. Bryce Walker UNC-Pembroke


  1. Andrew Dunn Kutztown
  2. Kameron Teacher St. Cloud State
  3. Weston Hunt Colorado Mines
  4. Steven Hajas Jr. Augustana
  5. Jacob Robb Mercyhurst
  6. Lee Herrington Nebraska-Kearney
  7. AJ Cooper Fort Hays State
  8. Francesco Borsellino West Liberty
  9. Freddie Nixon Gannon
  10. Ryan Monk UNC-Pembroke
  11. Ian Kuehl Mckendree
  12. Cam Coffman Lander
NWCA-D2-Team-October 15 2021

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?