High School Class AAA Preview

Section 1

In the re-alignment year, Section 1 sees the departure of Albert Lea to Class AA, and Farmington moves over to Section 2. That leaves Northfield and Owatonna to battle it out for the team title, with Faribault being a dark horse. Northfield returns one state placewinner in eighth-grader Jackson Barron (6th at 106) along with veteran seniors Beau Murphy, Jake Messner, Mason Pagel, and junior Jayce Barron. Owatonna, under new coach Derek Johnson, counters with their two returning medal winners, junior Cael Robb (6th at 120) and senior state champion Landon Johnson (160). Owatonna will also have experienced wrestlers in seniors Kanin Hable, Jacob Reinardy, and Andrew Nirk. Look for this dual to come down to who gets the flip. Rochester Century, Mayo, and John Marshall, along with Winona/Winona Cotter and Austin, round out the Section 1 teams.

View exclusive subscriber content with The Guillotine Subscription. Current subscribers log in.