Six Huskies win titles as No. 1 SCSU shows off at Dakota Wesleyan Open

ST. CLOUD, Minn. – No. 1 St. Cloud State Wrestling took home six of the 10 titles at the Dakota Wesleyan Open on Saturday, earning 14 top-three finishes throughout the day. The Huskies landed both wrestlers in the Finals at 125, 141, and 149. Saturday’s open featured wrestlers from Dakota Wesleyan, No. 22 Augustana, Briar Cliff, Chadron State, Concordia-Nebraska, RV Fort Hays State, Hastings, Jamestown, No. 2 Nebraska-Kearney, RV Southwest Minnesota State, Wayne State College, and York.

“I think we had a good day,” said head coach Steve Costanzo, “We had a lot of guys wrestling and just continued to see progress from last week to this week. It’s really good to see guys problem-solve, come in here and take care of some issues that they might have had the previous week. We still have to get better in a lot of those areas. We’re on the right track, we’re doing some good things, we just have to keep working hard and improve our technique.”

Dakota Wesleyan Open Results


  • Six Huskies earned Open Titles: Paxton Creese (125), No. 1 Joseph Bianchini (141), Jake Barzowski (149), No. 3 Colby Njos (157), Devin Donovan (165) and No. 5 Noah Ryan (197).
  • Robby Horsman (125), Cameron Riggs (141) and Nicholas Novak (149) each placed second in their weights.
  • Paxton Creese (5-0, 2 TF, 2 pins), Robby Horsman (4-1, 1 MD, 2 pins), Ashton Clark (4-1, 1 TF) and Nic Cantu (5-2, 1 MD, 2 TF, 1 pin) combined for 73.5 team points at 125 with a 61.1% bonus rate.
  • No. 2 Garrett Vos went 4-1 with a major decision, two tech falls and a pin.
  • Jake Barzowski (5-0, 2 TF, 1 pin), Nicholas Novak (3-1, 2 TF) and Ezekial Williamson (4-1) combined for 54.5 team points at 149.
  • No. 3 Colby Njos went 4-0 with a pair of pins on his way to the 157 title.
  • Devin Donovan won all five matches at 165 with a major decision and one pin.
  • Jared Head and Bryce FitzPatrick each went 4-1 with a major and two pins at 165.
  • Dominic Muphy posted a 60% bonus rate with two pins and a major decision.
  • No. 5 Noah Ryan posted one tech fall on his way to a 4-0 performance for the 197 title.


  • 125 Finals: Paxton Creese over Robby Horsman, 11-6
  • 125 Third Place: Ashton Clark by medical forfeit over Hector Serratos (Nebraska-Kearney)
  • 133 Third Place: No. 2 Garrett Vos pins Hunter Pfantz (SMSU) at 1:36
  • 141 Finals: No. 1 Joseph Bianchini by medical forfeit over Cameron Riggs
  • 149 Finals: Jake Barzowski over Nicholas Novak, 4-2
  • 149 Third Place: Ezekial Williamson by injury default over Keaten Schorr (Augustana)
  • 157 Finals: No. 3 Colby Njos over Tyler Wagener (Augustana), 2-0
  • 157 Third Place: Jimmy Pierandozzi by tech fall over Lucas Hodges (SMSU), 17-2
  • 165 Finals: Devin Donovan over Miles Fitzgerald (Augustana), 3-2
  • 184 Third Place: No. 8 Billy Pitzner by forfeit over Martin Verhaeghe (Fort Hays State)
  • 197 Finals: No. 5 Noah Ryan over Daniel Bishop (Augustana), 3-1

The Huskies battle No. 14 Lake Erie in their first dual of the season on Saturday, November 20 at Halenbeck Hall with a 2:00 p.m. CST start.

Check out Huskies Wrestling at and on Twitter and Facebook.

View More College News