Stauffacher leads the Mustangs through the Auggie Invite

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – The Southwest Minnesota State wrestling team continued its open schedule with six place winners and a pair of top-three finishers at the Auggie Invite in Minneapolis, Minn., Hosted by Augsburg.

Jackson Stauffacher led the way, going 3-0 and placing first at 125 pounds. He won by major decision to open his day before winning by decision over Brandon Murphy of Wisconsin-La Crosse in the semifinals and Isaac Wiegel of Wisconsin-Platteville in the finals.

Neil Hanson finished the day 3-1, placing third at 285. Hanson would begin his day with a win by decision before defeating Walter West of Luther College 5-3 in the quarterfinals. After losing by major decision against Ben Kawczynski of Wisconsin-La Crosse, Hanson would defeat Jordan Baumler of Upper Iowa by medical forfeit in the third-place match.

Luke Peterson would win a pair of matches at 141 to get into the semifinals before losing a pair of close decisions to finish the day with a fourth-place finish. After a win in the first round and a loss in the quarterfinals, Carter Marx would rattle off three straight wins to make it all the way through the consolation bracket and finish fifth.

Dillon McEachran would take a similar patch as Marx, falling in the quarterfinals before winning a pair of matches by decision to reach the fifth-place match. He would finish the day in sixth after falling to Max Schmitz of Wisconsin-Platteville. Hunter Pfantz would also finish sixth on the day, winning three matches in between a pair of losses.

“Overall, today showcased our skills against some of the toughest D3 teams in the country.” Said first-year head coach Chayse Jackson. “We had some good wins and some bitter loses. Yet, it was a great chance to see where we stand. Coming off last weekend, this was a test of our resiliency, one that the guys battled through. We will have a short week of training and a bit of recovery before our next match. Dec. 5 can’t come soon enough”

Augsburg Open Results

SMSU Results:
125- Jackson Stauffacher 3-0, first
133- Hunter Pfantz 3-2, sixth
141- Rees Lehman 1-2
141- Luke Peterson 2-2, fourth
149- Robert Shields 1-2
149- Tyler Soltau 0-2
157- Lucas Hodges 0-2
157- Sean Howk 1-2
165- Jace Paplow 2-2
165- Elijah Sterner 2-2
174- Kevin Bostwick 2-2
174- Brandon Lalla 0-2
174- Carter Marx 4-1, fifth
184- Caden Steffen 0-2
197- Dillon McEachran 3-2, sixth
285- Jacob Dykes 0-2
285- Neil Hanson 3-1, third

Check out Mustangs Wrestling at and on Twitter.

View More College News