Northern State 24, Southwest Minnesota State 19

Mustangs battle to the end, fall to Northern State

ABERDEEN, S.D.- The Southwest Minnesota State wrestling team (0-1, 0-1 NSIC) competed in its first Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference home dual of the 2021-22 season, suffering a 24-19 loss against Northern State (2-1, 1-1 NSIC) in Wachs Arena in Aberdeen, S.D., on Friday night.

The dual opened at 125 pounds, with Ben Emrich taking on Landon Fischer. Fischer was in the driver seat through this entire match earning a 5-2 decision. Hunter Pfantz would get the Mustangs on the board at 133, trailing 6-0 before marching back to tie the match at 6-6 before picking up a riding point to win 7-6. Luke Peterson would battle at 141, falling by decision 7-4.

Wyatt Turnquist would dominate at 149, flirting with a pin several times before defeating Robert Shields by tech fall 15-0. Lucas Hodges opened 157 with a 6-0 lead early before Issak Hunsley would score nine of the final 10 points to win 9-7 and take a commanding 14-3 lead into the intermission. Northern would extend the lead to 20-3 after a pin by James Burks at 165, but Carter Marx would end the run with a thrilling overtime pin to get the Mustangs to 20-9.

Caden Steffen would keep the Mustangs in it with an 11-1 major decision to cut it to 20-14, but Marcus Placide would ice the match with a 9-1 victory over Dillon McEachran. Jacob Dykes would close the dual with a pin over Ali’I Loyola, but it wouldn’t be enough to overcome the early dominance of Northern State.

“We knew it was going to be a tight dual.” said head coach Chayse Jackson. “I was proud of the fight our team had today. I am excited for the future of this team and can’t wait to see what we do at National Duals.”

Southwest Minnesota State will be off for nearly a month, returning to action Jan. 6-7 at the National Duals in Louisville, Ky.

Northern State 24, Southwest Minnesota State 19
125| Landon Fischer wins by decision (7-1) over Ben Emrich, NSU 3, SMSU 0
133| Hunter Pfantz wins by decision (7-6) over Teagan Block, NSU 3, SMSU 3
141| Kolton Roth wins by decision (7-4) over Luke Peterson, NSU 6, SMSU 3
149| Wyatt Turnquist wins by tech fall (15-0, 4:26) over Robert Shields, NSU 11, SMSU 3
157| Issak Hunsley wins by decision (9-7) over Lucas Hodges, NSU 14, SMSU 3
165| James Burks wins by fall (1:43) over Elijah Sterner, NSU 20, SMSU 3
174| Carter Marx wins by fall (7:06) over Chase Bloomquist, NSU 20, SMSU 9
184| Caden Steffen wins by major decision (11-1) over Tanner Weise, NSU 20, SMSU 13
197| Marcus Placide wins by major decision (9-1) over Dillon McEachran, NSU 24, SMSU 13
285| Jacob Dykes wins by fall (6:23) over Ali’i Loyola, NSU 24, SMSU 19

149| Sean Howk wins by decision (3-1) over Aden Deboer

Check out Mustangs Wrestling at and on Twitter.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?